German Apple Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is awesome!!! I just made it and am enjoying it as I write this rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I thought this was a delicious change from our typical breakfast fare. It was easy to make and my family all liked it as well. We served it with a homemade applesauce that has some golden raisins in it, and maple syrup. I did double the recipe and used 2 pans for it and that turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Really yummy. Nice change to traditional eggs or pancake. The only thing is do different is cut the butter in half. Other then that it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennH
Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
All the butter made it heavy and too much nutmeg for our tastes. Also read directions and plan ahead if need to; this recipe is not "Ready in 45 minutes" as the recipe page states. The batter has to "stand for 30 minutes or overnight" which is in addition to the 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
If you don't like these to be "eggy", you can double the flour. I made these today and they were just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnieP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOM2AARON
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I just made this today, and I thought it was awesome! I used a Lodge iron skillet, and the edges were crisp, and the middle was very soft and creamy, like a baked french toast. I grated fresh nutmeg, and would highly recommend that! I did not have a tart apple, so I used another variety. I think a granny smith would have been better, as a nice tart contrast to the sweet apple-goo made by the sugar and spices. This was delicious, and a definite keeper. It looks so impressive at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM2AARON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, New York, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Very good.. but takes more time than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I make this recipe with some small modifications all the time and it's one of my family's favorite breakfasts/brunches. Today, I decided to try it with all wheat flour, and it was DELICIOUS that way!! I always add the original amount of butter to the batter, but when it comes to the second amount of butter for the pan, I always use just enough to grease it and no more. 1/4 cup is way too much. I also cut down a lot on the sugar. Instead of 1/2 cup divided, I just add the apples to the skillet with butter and then just sprinkle a couple of tablespoons of the sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg mixture over the apples and that is the perfect amount for my family. I could never imagine adding a whole half cup! I recommend just eyeballing how much you think you would like. Try it with wheat flour! It's the only way I will make mine from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mingo Junction, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hammondsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
My husband calls this "Apple Pie Pancake." We both liked this a lot! I followed another reviewers advice and sautéed the sliced apples, sugar, butter, cinnamon & nutmeg, then poured the mixture into a 9" glass pie dish. Then I poured the pancake mixture on top and baked as noted. I used 2 apples, and next time, I will halve the butter in the pan. And yes, there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Amazing! Double the amount of Apple's is my only suggestion. Keep the sugar the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States