German Apple Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Well, I'm a cheater. I used Krusteez pancake mix for the batter. I also split the sugar - half brown sugar, half white sugar. I've made it both ways, and each tasted great, but the original has a different texture..more like an egg custard taste. But for a quick morning breakfast, this worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
An excellent recipe that I tried on my own after my dad made it for me while visiting. It can also be used with other fruits like bananas, peaches, or blackberries, by themselves or right along with the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Works great with gluten free flour. I use a cake pan instead of a skillet - again, works perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My husband and I both thought there was too much cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My family loves this recipe. We have probably made it a dozen times. I always skip the nutmeg, and I frequently skip the cinnamon. I also reduce the sugar in the apples by half. My oven runs hot too so I reduce the initial temperature to 400. It is really great though. My kids adore it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
One of my favorite winter weekend breakfast . So fragrant with apples butter and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Piorkowski

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belmar, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Sorry, but this wasn't to my taste at all. The texture and flavor were more like a souffle or omelet than a pancake. By itself that would be OK (I like souffles), but I didn't think it went well with all of the sugar and apples. I was surprised to see how little flour there was for the number of eggs. Also, even though I like nutmeg, I thought the nutmeg flavor was overpowering - I suggest cutting back on it (you can always sprinkle more on top when it's done if you want). I won't make this again - next time I'll try the recipe from America's Test Kitchen, which uses half the eggs for the same amount of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Really good! I made it almost exactly as written, my only oven-proof skillet was a little too small, so I did the skillet steps and then transferred to a pie pan. I sprinkled powdered sugar on it, served it warm, and it was delicious, a unique texture, but good. The one thing I thought might be a good addition to try as a topping is a cinnamon/pecan streusel, so I might try that in the future. I know some people commented on adding additional cinnamon, but I put the amount in the recipe and didn't feel like it needed any more, it was good as written. I might try a little less butter next time, but it was definitely good as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Clinton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was one of the most disgusting things I have ever tried to eat. I expected at least a pancake texture to this thing. However with 4 eggs (!!!!!!!!) and just a tiny bit of milk and flour this thing is just a sweet oven cooked omelette with caramelized apples on top. Ever wonder why that is not an usual topping for omelettes? I'll tell you why, because they don't match. The worst part is it was a complete waste of the last apples I got apple picking with my dad. Maybe I'll dig them out of this disgusting concoction and use them to top regular pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Great breakfast treat. Start the night before to let the dough raise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States