German Apple Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was great and easy to make in the morning for everyone. The texture wasn't quite like I anticipated- don't expect a regular pancake! Mmm, sweet, buttery and delicious- what more could you want to wake up to?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars because it exceeded my expectations. After reading some reviews I was worried it would be too custardy. I added 1/4 cup extra flour to the batter. I also added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and double sugar to the batter. I omitted the nutmeg and doubled the cinnamon in the apples. I baked in a 10 inch skillet and had to add 10 minutes longer at 375 because it was still liquid in the center. The end result came out delicious. The family actually liked it too, which is unusual :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Exceptional flavor and texture. Love it! I just do not go crazy with nutmeg. It's a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe. I am a modest cook and breakfast at best and this receipe was not difficult yet put a new spin on the morning pancake. My toddler and wife love it. Only change is to cut the nutmeg in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We liked this a lot! I cut the sugar in half, used one less egg and added 1 banana. Thanks for giving me a brilliant breakfast idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is one of our favorite breakfast recipes and I have been making it for several years. The recipe works really well with other fruits such as pears (or a mix of apples and pears) and peaches. I make this in my cast iron skillet. Although the recipe is great as-is, I have been making the following modifications to suit our taste: I usually add more fruits than called for (2 apples at least, sometimes 3) and I decrease the sugar to about 1/4 cup. I also put only 3 tbsp of butter in the pan to cook the apples to cut on the calories slightly. But even without these changes, this recipe is a winner! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
great german apple pancake! I used splenda and egg whites and it turned out so tasty. I'll definitely be making this again. My version has under 150 calories and 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
very eggy but tasty. used half the butter/sugar, 2 apples, and extra spices as suggested by other reviewers. no problems with overflowing out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I cut back alittle on sugar and butter and also added 1 cup fresh blueberries along with the apple (fresh cherries would also work). It was very good. Served with alittle maple syrup. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I saw this on the recipe buzz yesterday and just had to try it. I like anything with apples and have always liked German food. I I used whipped butter, because it was what I had on hand. After it was baked the taste was like a cinnamon and buttery soft apple pancake with a slight custardy center. I thought it made more like 6 servings though, and liked that it all fit in one pan and looked like a fancy breakfast dish. Plus, I got an excuse to use my cast iron pan, which I hadn't used in awhile. Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States