German Apple Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ktdacas
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This was my first time making this as an adult (I remember helping my mom make this). I didn't have a Dutch oven pan so I used a 9 inch pan. Also I forgot the last 1/4 cup sugar on the apples so sprinkled it after the batter was added to the apples. Still turned out GREAT! My two year old devoured it! Why go out to a pancake house on a busy Saturday, wait in line, wait for the food, eat the food and pay a big bill! Do it yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I have been looking for a good oven pancake recipe. This recipe was easy and so delicious! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This makes for a very good breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
A definite keeper! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lawampa
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Just made it.. Taste like a frech toast when u dad maple syrup looks mins a like the up loaded pictures and smells delicious!.. Did go half no the sugar and more nutmeg .. Like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The taste was delicious, and I love the egginess. I think I'll try to reduce the butter a bit next time, it is a bit greasy. Question: did anyone else have it "collapse" on you? When I removed it from the oven, it was domed and fluffy, but when I served it, it collapsed leaving a pile of delicious mess. Any tricks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vmwco
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Looked at the recipe, thought about making, made it, then ate it. GREAT. Taste just like Walker Bros. in North Chicago. Didn't, quit look like Walker Bros., but sure did taste good. Haven't have one in a long time. I'll make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I think the directions are poorly written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Delicious! Some changes that worked for me include substituting light brown sugar for the white sugar, using apple pie spice in place of all the spices, and tossing the apple slices with 1 tbs of whiskey. These changes give this dish a more complex flavor. I used two medium apples instead of the 1 large, and did not add any additional sugar over the top of the fritter, choosing instead to drizzle with agave-maple syrup when done. Also, I didn't have a deep oven-proof skillet so I used a regular one and used most but not all of the batter. BTW, give the batter a quick whisk before you pour it into the skillet so it's uniform. The batter should sit below the rim of the skillet before you put it into the oven as it will rise. I also cooked the fritter at the lower temp for a total of 20 minutes and it turned out fine. The key is that the fritter should be dry to the touch, which means it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Well, I'm a cheater. I used Krusteez pancake mix for the batter. I also split the sugar - half brown sugar, half white sugar. I've made it both ways, and each tasted great, but the original has a different texture..more like an egg custard taste. But for a quick morning breakfast, this worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States