German Apple Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
The taste was ok but I did not care for the texture as it was a bit spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe was super delicious. I didn't let it sit over night, I just let it sit while I was peeling and cutting apples and it worked great. I made it exactly as suggested except I doubled the apples. Also, I am not classy enough to have a pan that goes in the oven so I just dumped it in a pie pan & it worked really well. My only suggestion would be use a BIG pie pan because your apples might fall off while it's puffing up if you double the apples like I did. Either way, it was still really easy to make and super yummy. The most tedious part was just peeling the apples. I hate peeling apples and I still think this recipe was worth it so that's saying something! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was delicious. I made only two changes to the ingredients themselves: I used 3 1/2 apples, peeled & sliced, instead of just the 1, and I used 1/4 cup vanilla/sugar in place of the regular sugar when sprinkling on the apples. I have a real "argument" with the number of people this is supposed to serve. Really - 4 people??? My husband & I polished this off for supper - just the two of us. But I guess that says more about my husband & me than it does about the recipe. Again - wonderful recipe! Delicious & perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterfoot, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rich Waldis
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
We make this a few times each September after our apple picking trip. Awesome breakfast. We do cut the sugar down but that is our only tweak. Well we don't necessarily let the batter sit for 30 minutes either but it still comes out quite tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich Waldis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ktdacas
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This was my first time making this as an adult (I remember helping my mom make this). I didn't have a Dutch oven pan so I used a 9 inch pan. Also I forgot the last 1/4 cup sugar on the apples so sprinkled it after the batter was added to the apples. Still turned out GREAT! My two year old devoured it! Why go out to a pancake house on a busy Saturday, wait in line, wait for the food, eat the food and pay a big bill! Do it yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I have been looking for a good oven pancake recipe. This recipe was easy and so delicious! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This makes for a very good breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
A definite keeper! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lawampa
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Just made it.. Taste like a frech toast when u dad maple syrup looks mins a like the up loaded pictures and smells delicious!.. Did go half no the sugar and more nutmeg .. Like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The taste was delicious, and I love the egginess. I think I'll try to reduce the butter a bit next time, it is a bit greasy. Question: did anyone else have it "collapse" on you? When I removed it from the oven, it was domed and fluffy, but when I served it, it collapsed leaving a pile of delicious mess. Any tricks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States