German Apple Dapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
DANG the batter and glaze are delicious. I cut the oil by 1/4 cup and added an extra cup of chopped apples, like others said. I hate dealing with tube pans, so I made 2 8" rounds and layered them in a pool of caramel heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Had to cook for almost an hour like others stated here and even after adding 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to recipe it was bland and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shunkkai
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Mmm! My grandma and I always bake very unoriginal things but we decided to change it up and this was an awesome surprise! The caramel topping is delicious, next time we make it we will substitute some oil with applesauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Made this for a luncheon and everyone loved it. It was moist and delicious. I made it (in a tube pan) the day before, poked holes with a bamboo skewer in the cake as soon as it came out of the oven and then poured the sauce over. All the sauce sank into the cake. I baked it for 75 minutes because my oven seems to be off lately. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Baked longer as suggested and it came out absolutely wonderful! The aroma in my house was amazing! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! I did add some cinnamon, and baked it in a glass 13x9 baking dish. Turned out wonderful!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I made one and didn't cook it long enough. When I made the glaze it was too heavy and squashed the not-fully cooked cake. I immediately made a second, cooked it long enough, but didn't use the glaze. I frosted it with white frosting and it was a total hit at our family german fest dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This cake is perfect just the way it is. The batter did scare me, because it was very stiff, but after I added the apples and walnuts, it was fine. I slapped chopped my fuji apples and that may be what gave it the "juice" it needed. I did have to bake it for 60 minutes too. To make it healthier next time I will add 1/2 apple sauce instead of all oil, 1/2 whole wheat flour instead of all white flour and throw in some flax seed. May use some fall spices, but I really do love it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
very good, very moist. I understand everyones preferences are different when it comes to spices. I added the combination I use with my apple pie. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda S
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is the 2nd time I have made a German Apple Cake. The first was using a different recipe in a cooking class. I followed this exactly as it is written here only in both cases the cakes took 1 hr to bake. Its worth the wait! Delicious it wasn't dry or overly mushy. If you want a sweet dessert do not skip the caramel sauce as the cake itself is not that sweet (this may depend on sweetness of your apples too I guess). I drizzled the cake with about a quarter of the caramel sauce and then reserved the rest in a small container in case others need more. I did myself once go back and get more sauce. Its great with whipped topping and if you didn't have caramel sauce whipped topping would make a good (less sweet) substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States