German Apple Dapple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
My family did not like this cake at all. Plus it has a lot of oil and takes a while to cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Andrews, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
DANG the batter and glaze are delicious. I cut the oil by 1/4 cup and added an extra cup of chopped apples, like others said. I hate dealing with tube pans, so I made 2 8" rounds and layered them in a pool of caramel heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Had to cook for almost an hour like others stated here and even after adding 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to recipe it was bland and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shunkkai
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Mmm! My grandma and I always bake very unoriginal things but we decided to change it up and this was an awesome surprise! The caramel topping is delicious, next time we make it we will substitute some oil with applesauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Made this for a luncheon and everyone loved it. It was moist and delicious. I made it (in a tube pan) the day before, poked holes with a bamboo skewer in the cake as soon as it came out of the oven and then poured the sauce over. All the sauce sank into the cake. I baked it for 75 minutes because my oven seems to be off lately. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Baked longer as suggested and it came out absolutely wonderful! The aroma in my house was amazing! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! I did add some cinnamon, and baked it in a glass 13x9 baking dish. Turned out wonderful!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. I made one and didn't cook it long enough. When I made the glaze it was too heavy and squashed the not-fully cooked cake. I immediately made a second, cooked it long enough, but didn't use the glaze. I frosted it with white frosting and it was a total hit at our family german fest dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This cake is perfect just the way it is. The batter did scare me, because it was very stiff, but after I added the apples and walnuts, it was fine. I slapped chopped my fuji apples and that may be what gave it the "juice" it needed. I did have to bake it for 60 minutes too. To make it healthier next time I will add 1/2 apple sauce instead of all oil, 1/2 whole wheat flour instead of all white flour and throw in some flax seed. May use some fall spices, but I really do love it as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
very good, very moist. I understand everyones preferences are different when it comes to spices. I added the combination I use with my apple pie. Definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States