German Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Excellent cake. I've made this for years and everyone who tries it loves it. One thing to mention, the batter will be VERY thick, so it doesn't "pour" very well over the apples. It's best to scoop it out and drop it by spoonfuls and then spread it over the apples. The results are well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
The cake is definitely beautiful, and definitely moist--which is a bit of an understatement. Very rich and dense with apples, it is actually too "moist" for my liking. Topping the cake as is with a heavy cream cheese frosting was just too much. This probably would have benefited with the addition of one more egg or maybe just less apples. I would have preferred this more "cakey."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
My son had to make a German recipe for his German class. We decided on this recipe because I had most of the ingredients here at home.Not knowing how it would turn out,I followed the recipe and the finished product was SO wonderful. I wished he didn't have to take it to school. This is one of the best recipes I've gotten from this site. Thank-you Michele for submitting it.***Tip*** If you use a Kitchen aide, the mixing process is a piece of cake. LOL Also using 8oz of cream cheese for the frosting gives it alittle more cheese cake like taste. 5 star recipe !!!!!!!! Midge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This cake was sooo incredibly good! Normally for me, if a dessert doesn't have chocolate in it, I don't consider it worth my time and effort. I made an exception with this cake to use up some apples and I'm so so glad I did. For those worried about the time consuming nature of chopping, dicing, and slicing -- I suggest the use of a food processor. I chopped the apples in fairly large chunks and pulsed them in the food processor until they were small but not turned to mush. I did the same with the walnuts. This saved a huge amount of time and still gave the cake all of the "chunkiness" it needed. This cake is very similar in denseness and sweetness to a good carrot cake, but even better in my opinion. Definitely take the time to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANUS42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
The day I made this, it was very good. The next day, it was OUTSTANDING! The only change I made was substituting cake flour for all-purpose. I followed another suggestion about pulsing the apples into smaller pieces - great idea! My boyfriend loved it so much it's his new favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I had a couple of oops moments as I tried to make this cake. I only had 1/3 cup of oil, so I used my son's applesauce cup in addition to. My husband is from Austria and his biggest complaint with american desserts is the amount of sugar we use, so I cut that in half. I added a cup extra of apples. At the end of it was a wonderful dessert that everyone loved. I would do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
I've made this twice, and it is a definite "make it again!" dessert. Since I've made it twice, I doubled the frosting ingredients to have a thicker frosting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
A friend brought this to a party. She asked me if I had tasted it and said it was "to die for." She was right! I hounded her until she sent me the recipe. I have made it several times and everyone loves it! When I was out of town, I was delighted to find the recipe on my wonderful Allrecipes site. Thanks for sharing! My friend suggested icing the cake while it was hot. That works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This cake is awesome!! I made 4 of these for a luncheon at work. Everyone loved them and I've had sooo many requests for the recipe. And they're just as good without the frosting...in fact one of the cakes was devoured "naked". The most "difficult" thing about this recipe is peeling the apples! Will definitely make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Rich, moist apple cake. I added about 3/4 cup of yougart to the batter before baking. Also I used a whole 8oz pkg of cream cheese to make the frosting. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States