German Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I have never had so much luck with a recipe. Everyone who tried it asked me for the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This cake was sooo incredibly good! Normally for me, if a dessert doesn't have chocolate in it, I don't consider it worth my time and effort. I made an exception with this cake to use up some apples and I'm so so glad I did. For those worried about the time consuming nature of chopping, dicing, and slicing -- I suggest the use of a food processor. I chopped the apples in fairly large chunks and pulsed them in the food processor until they were small but not turned to mush. I did the same with the walnuts. This saved a huge amount of time and still gave the cake all of the "chunkiness" it needed. This cake is very similar in denseness and sweetness to a good carrot cake, but even better in my opinion. Definitely take the time to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANUS42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I had a couple of oops moments as I tried to make this cake. I only had 1/3 cup of oil, so I used my son's applesauce cup in addition to. My husband is from Austria and his biggest complaint with american desserts is the amount of sugar we use, so I cut that in half. I added a cup extra of apples. At the end of it was a wonderful dessert that everyone loved. I would do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This is an absolutely delicious cake! I made it for my son's 8th birthday, and he's requested it multiple times since then. Extremely moist- definately not a finger food, doesn't work as cupcakes (they were really tasty, but messy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
If I could give this 10 stars I would. It is a very dense cake and the frosting makes it even richer so be prepared for that, (I usually make this for my work, hubby's work and parties because a little goes a long way!) but also be prepared to be asked to make this cake again and again. This is my most requested cake by far. It is so good and perfect to make in the fall. You will love this. If the frosting is too much, the cake is good enough to eat on it's own. Just try this! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
A friend brought this to a party. She asked me if I had tasted it and said it was "to die for." She was right! I hounded her until she sent me the recipe. I have made it several times and everyone loves it! When I was out of town, I was delighted to find the recipe on my wonderful Allrecipes site. Thanks for sharing! My friend suggested icing the cake while it was hot. That works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This cake is awesome!! I made 4 of these for a luncheon at work. Everyone loved them and I've had sooo many requests for the recipe. And they're just as good without the frosting...in fact one of the cakes was devoured "naked". The most "difficult" thing about this recipe is peeling the apples! Will definitely make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
If you like carrot cake, you'll love this rich and moist apple cake. The nuts give it a crunchy texture, the frosting is creamy and not too sweet. Make it for large gatherings and cut the pieces smaller, a little goes a long way. Be sure and refrigerate left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
did not like this at all...too heavy and dense...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
My son had to make a German recipe for his German class. We decided on this recipe because I had most of the ingredients here at home.Not knowing how it would turn out,I followed the recipe and the finished product was SO wonderful. I wished he didn't have to take it to school. This is one of the best recipes I've gotten from this site. Thank-you Michele for submitting it.***Tip*** If you use a Kitchen aide, the mixing process is a piece of cake. LOL Also using 8oz of cream cheese for the frosting gives it alittle more cheese cake like taste. 5 star recipe !!!!!!!! Midge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States