German Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This is an excellent cake!! What I did differently is that I grated the apples instead of dicing them and I did without the frosting. This cake doesn't have a 'normal' batter consistency compared to other cakes, so don't think you did something wrong. To me the cake tastes better if you let it cool....overall it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Even thought I cut back on the sugar and oil this was still way too sweet and oily for me. Thanks, anyway for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
A great cake - I made the recipe 3 times so far as it is written and it turned out great. I did have to watch the cooking time and I had to go the full time to get the middle done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking4five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morris, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I just finished making and eating this cake. My entire family loved it! This is definitely going in my recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
A very good recipe. I added 8 ounces of cream cheese for the frosting and then sprinkled cinnamon over the top to give it a little something special. Also, there is too much sugar in it for me so I cut it by a third and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I was in the mood for a good fall recipe when it started snowing for the first time this year in Iowa. This hit the spot; it was delicious. I had a lot of apples to use up, so I think I put in about 5-6 cups of apples. It still turned out well. Very flavorful and moist. The only change I made was: added about 1 t pumpkin spice, 1/2 t nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claire03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
My fiance and I made this for an Oktoberfest party with cream cheese frosting and it turned out absolutely perfect! Everyone at the party loved it, it was a total hit! We will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKI101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Delicious! I'm usually a box cake kind of girl so initially I was nervous making a cake from "scratch". Low and behold it was soo good. Everyone in my house loved it! I will say that I miss judged and took the cake out 5 mins shy of 50 minutes and the middle of the cake wasn't as cooked as the rest, but it was still very good! I will be making it for an Octoberfest come this sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Wunderbar! Count me in as one of the raving lunatics who are crazy about this apple cake. I brought this to a going away party for a couple moving to Germany. It was the only dessert item on the buffet table. Everyone loved it! My daughter called it "simply amazing" (as she was snacking on the remains for breakfast the next morning). I made a few adjustments and I'll do the same when I make this again. I used half vegetable oil and half applesauce, as I do whenever the recipe allows. I also added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice since I was a bit short on cinnamon. I didn't use the walnuts in the cake batter, but toasted them and sprinkled liberally over the frosting. Finally, I baked in a Bundt pan (sprayed and dusted with sugar.) Danke schoen, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
this cake recipe is a keeper and this is not the first time i've made it!! i actually screwed up this time and i was making it for my honeys birthday! I forgot to add the nuts, which i was using pecans because i was out of walnuts a rareity in itself, so i just chopped the pecans and put then on top which wasn't nearly as good as baked in and still the cake was gr8!! lol!! one of those "murphy's law" days!! all in all this cake is moist and fruity and delicious! a real treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States