German Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This cake was very very sweet and so moist I couldn't cut it into pieces.. I will not bake it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Peony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made this in a bundt pan. Used 1/2 oil, 1/2 applesauce, didn't bother with icing. Added 2 tablespoons Capt Morgan Spiced Rum to chopped apples. let them sit while preparing other ingredients.Good stuff. Tasty cake. Batter definitely needs to spooned into well greased pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This cake is awesome!! Every time I make it I get so many compliments. My only issue has been that since the batter is incredibly thick before putting in the apples, the egg beater doesn't work very well. In fact, I've actually broken my egg beater from trying to mix this batter. Once you stir in the apples it thins out the batter again so you are able to pour it into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Excellent recipe. Add a little extra flour if dough is way too sticky. A recipe that family will request again and AGAIN! Incredible flavor. Made a cream cheese glaze, a little lighter to go with dense cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I made this yesterday and it's gone today. Yummy! I glazed it with a simple sauce. 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup butter, 1/8 cup cream, boiled for about three minutes and then drizzled on top of the warm cake. I'll try the cream cheese icing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Great cake and easy to make with ingredients most have on hand. It is moist and nice for a fall or German themed party Here are a couple tips: Use Granny smith apples-many reviewers said it was a little sweet so this tart apple does the trick. It definately need the full baking time or a couple minutes more. I also might pulse the apples in the food processor next time so they blend into the batter more. I would use just 4 medium apples-don`t worry about measuring out 4 cups. I little freshly grated nutmeg is a nice addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Kotelman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Fantastic! Easy, very moist and a hit with everyone. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
The day I made this, it was very good. The next day, it was OUTSTANDING! The only change I made was substituting cake flour for all-purpose. I followed another suggestion about pulsing the apples into smaller pieces - great idea! My boyfriend loved it so much it's his new favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I made this cake for a German theme party and have been making it ever since. It's wonderful. The only changes I made is I use two apples instead of four to give it more of a "cakey" taste. I also double the recipe for the frosting since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this and the flavor was great but it was really really moist to the point of falling apart. I think I will leave the icing off next time as it was plenty rich without and almost too rich with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States