German Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This cake was amazing. Not only was it easy to make but it turned out better than I had planned. I made it for a potluck luncheon at work and they couldn't believe that I had made it! I'll be making this cake again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I have never had so much luck with a recipe. Everyone who tried it asked me for the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This cake was sooo incredibly good! Normally for me, if a dessert doesn't have chocolate in it, I don't consider it worth my time and effort. I made an exception with this cake to use up some apples and I'm so so glad I did. For those worried about the time consuming nature of chopping, dicing, and slicing -- I suggest the use of a food processor. I chopped the apples in fairly large chunks and pulsed them in the food processor until they were small but not turned to mush. I did the same with the walnuts. This saved a huge amount of time and still gave the cake all of the "chunkiness" it needed. This cake is very similar in denseness and sweetness to a good carrot cake, but even better in my opinion. Definitely take the time to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANUS42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I had a couple of oops moments as I tried to make this cake. I only had 1/3 cup of oil, so I used my son's applesauce cup in addition to. My husband is from Austria and his biggest complaint with american desserts is the amount of sugar we use, so I cut that in half. I added a cup extra of apples. At the end of it was a wonderful dessert that everyone loved. I would do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyauck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
This is an absolutely delicious cake! I made it for my son's 8th birthday, and he's requested it multiple times since then. Extremely moist- definately not a finger food, doesn't work as cupcakes (they were really tasty, but messy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
If I could give this 10 stars I would. It is a very dense cake and the frosting makes it even richer so be prepared for that, (I usually make this for my work, hubby's work and parties because a little goes a long way!) but also be prepared to be asked to make this cake again and again. This is my most requested cake by far. It is so good and perfect to make in the fall. You will love this. If the frosting is too much, the cake is good enough to eat on it's own. Just try this! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
A friend brought this to a party. She asked me if I had tasted it and said it was "to die for." She was right! I hounded her until she sent me the recipe. I have made it several times and everyone loves it! When I was out of town, I was delighted to find the recipe on my wonderful Allrecipes site. Thanks for sharing! My friend suggested icing the cake while it was hot. That works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This cake is awesome!! I made 4 of these for a luncheon at work. Everyone loved them and I've had sooo many requests for the recipe. And they're just as good without the frosting...in fact one of the cakes was devoured "naked". The most "difficult" thing about this recipe is peeling the apples! Will definitely make this again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
If you like carrot cake, you'll love this rich and moist apple cake. The nuts give it a crunchy texture, the frosting is creamy and not too sweet. Make it for large gatherings and cut the pieces smaller, a little goes a long way. Be sure and refrigerate left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
did not like this at all...too heavy and dense...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States