German Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
The cake is definitely beautiful, and definitely moist--which is a bit of an understatement. Very rich and dense with apples, it is actually too "moist" for my liking. Topping the cake as is with a heavy cream cheese frosting was just too much. This probably would have benefited with the addition of one more egg or maybe just less apples. I would have preferred this more "cakey."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I made this for my office and they all loved it!! Even my husband, who doesn't care for fruit cakes, said that I had better not lose this recipe. It is wonderful. I didn't make any changes to it next time I may add a touch of brandy for a little bam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The cooking rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Made this cake last night. I used advice of other readers and used 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar, 3 teaspoons cinnamon and used 3/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup oil. It was good when it first came out of the oven. I covered it after it cooled and this morning the cake was more moist as other reviewers mentioned. Its an okay cake but I'll probably won't make again. PS Brought it to work and the guys love it. But then they like anything anyone brings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Rich, moist apple cake. I added about 3/4 cup of yougart to the batter before baking. Also I used a whole 8oz pkg of cream cheese to make the frosting. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago Heights, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Last year I found this when I was looking for recipes to use up my apples. It has been a favorite ever since. Every time I bring it somewhere I come home with an empty dish and I've handed out the recipe. Amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was so moist and delicious....and so easy! I am not a huge fan of walnuts, so I left those out, but i bet thre crunch from the nits would be great. I used premade cream cheese frosting, cause thats what I had, and frosted it when it was warm. The frosting soaked into the top of the cake, so yummy! My husband said it might be his favorite desert I have ever made him! He told me to write on the recipe not to alter in any way (he knows i like to try new things with my recipes). I might just add walnuts to half the cake next time! This is a keeper, and I will be bringing it with me to many holiday parties this fall! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Excellent cake. I've made this for years and everyone who tries it loves it. One thing to mention, the batter will be VERY thick, so it doesn't "pour" very well over the apples. It's best to scoop it out and drop it by spoonfuls and then spread it over the apples. The results are well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a really moist cake recipe. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
One bite and my guys gave THUMBS UP! We had to make another in less than 24 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This cake was amazing. Not only was it easy to make but it turned out better than I had planned. I made it for a potluck luncheon at work and they couldn't believe that I had made it! I'll be making this cake again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States