German Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Super Good! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby2222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I liked it...it looked really good, but it was TOO sweet. Whenever I bake, the treats never last long in my house but this was different...my family didn't like it very much because of how sweet is was, but I personally liked it a lot. Wasn't much of an apple cake though...more of a sugar cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
YUM YUM YUM...... This was so goooood. Very moist and was gone before I knew it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Super recipe. I added coconut to the frosting, otherwise followed recipe. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I cut the recipe in half and baked in a 8x8 glass baking dish. The cake wasn't as sweet as I thought it would be and wasn't as moist as I thought it would be based on the other reviews. Was more like a brownie or cookie than a cake. The cream cheese frosting was good, but it overpowered the flavor of the cake. Still a good dessert for using up apples, but thought it could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This cake is very easy to make, super moist, and turns out really well. However, nothing about it screams, "apple cake" to me. It might as well just be a super moist sugar cake. The problem is that the batter doesn't taste like apples... You would expect an apple cake to taste like apples. So while it is, indeed, easy to make and not that bad...it just doesn't taste like you would expect an apple cake to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Was a big hit with my parents. Mom wanted the recipe right away! GREAT frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised. This was a very good cake. I am so thankful that someone wrote about how THICK the batter would be. After reading many other recipes, I made two adjustments which made the batter more pliable. One, I used three eggs instead of two. Two, I added a teaspoon of water. Lastly, I used half white sugar and half brown sugar, and I used pecans instead of walnuts. I will definitely be making this again - maybe with raisins and walnuts. It is a great way to use apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This cake is really, really good!! The first time I made it, I halved all the ingredients and used a 9x9" pan for 45 minutes. The second time, I used half the vanilla extract in the frosting to really taste the cream cheese flavor, and it came out good, too! Thank you for such a good recipe! I'm adding this to my recipe collection! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
My husband LOVES this cake ALMOST ...as much as APPLE PIE!!And that's really saying somethig! ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANIMAL LOVER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States