German Apple Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Everyone loved it. Easy to make, very moist (not too moist) great cinnamon flavor. Will definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Baking this cake as I write this. Smells wonderful. I cut the sugar down tov 1 1/2 cup and the oil to 1/2 cup. I cup of oil is way too much for this recipe and 2 cups of sugar makes this oversweet. The apples will sweeten the cake enough. Also 4 cups of apples was a lot compared to the amount of batter. I am skipping the icing. I used a cinnamon and sugar mix and sprinkled that on top of the cake. I made this a Christmas party tomorrow. Hope its good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I just made this recipe....followed to the letter but made it as a bundt. It was a complete flop. Took it out of the oven, toothpick comes out clean, waited for it to cool. Went to invert it on a plate and it was like stew. No idea what happened. Oven is accurate, convection baking. Supposed to be taking it for dinner tonight. What a mess :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this as a bundt and used the icing recipe on it and it was great! I couldn't put walnuts in them as my hubbie can't eat nuts, and I put in an extra cup of apples and used unsweetened apple sauce instead of oil. (I use applesauce in all my cake recipes, less fat.) It was wonderfully moist. On the icing, my store doesn't carry the 3 oz packs of cream cheese, only the 8oz, so I just added a bit more butter, vanilla and sugar and it was the best cream cheese icing I've made. The extra was just enough for a bundt. I might try the original amounts next time, thinning it to a glaze though as is usual with a bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years. I make it all, except the frosting,in one bowl. Wet ingredients first, mix well, add dry ingredients, mix well, add apples, blend them in. It has never failed and is a family and friends favorite. I put the frosting on as soon as it comes out of the oven. I usually use Granny Smith apples but others work well. Dried cranberries or raisens added with the apples , 1/2 cup, is a very nive addition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I make this exact same cake. The ONLY thing I do different is, I frost while cake is still quite warm. The frosting partially melts into cake and we also eat it warm. Incredibly rich but OMG so good. Making it for potluck tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Hubby needed a potluck dessert for an office contest and seeing all the good reviews on this, I made it for him. It won first prize! I followed some of the other reviewers' suggestions, so thanks to them, too. I used half cake flour and half all-purpose; four Granny Smith apples soaked in a couple tablespoons of Captain Morgan Spiced Rum; cut the oil in half w/half applesauce; used just a little more than half the sugar originally called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Wonderful cake for autumn! For those that didn't think it was "appley" enough, perhaps it would help using baking apples. I mixed a couple of golden delicious with a couple of cortlands. I also cut the oil to 1/2 cup and next time I will use half of the sugar. I topped it with caramel ice cream topping. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This cake was very very sweet and so moist I couldn't cut it into pieces.. I will not bake it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Peony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Made this in a bundt pan. Used 1/2 oil, 1/2 applesauce, didn't bother with icing. Added 2 tablespoons Capt Morgan Spiced Rum to chopped apples. let them sit while preparing other ingredients.Good stuff. Tasty cake. Batter definitely needs to spooned into well greased pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States