German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
OMG this is awesome good! It just doesn't get any better than this! I kept all measurements and ingredients the same, only adding 1 tsp. of vanilla to the batter. It bakes to an almost cookie-like crunchiness on the top with a very moist and apple-y interior. I took it over the top by pouring over a caramel glaze: 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 c. brown sugar, and 1/4 c. cream. Bring to a boil, then boil 3 minutes. Remove from heat and add 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Let cool just slightly before pouring over warm cake. Hubby says the "sauce" was what made this extraordinarily good, but this cake is so good, so delicious, a simple sprinkling of powdered sugar would be just fine too. I don't EVER want to lose this recipe! Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
835 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Thanks to all the other reviewers I reduced the oil to 1/2 cup and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups as well as increasing the cinnamon to 3 tsps. I also thinly sliced my apples and should have used 5 cups instead of 4. I made an additional change - I beat the eggs and oil together until the eggs were a little frothy on top - about 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. I baked this in a glass pan for 40 minutes and the cake turned out quite light and moist. Instead of greasing and flouring the pan I substituted cinnamon sugar for the flour. For those of you who haven't tried this recipe - its WONDERFUL!!!! Not overly sweet, just bites of apple-cinnamon heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
433 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
What a delicious cake. I used 3/4 cup of applesauce and 1/4 cup oil in place of the cup of oil. I also cut the sugar to 1 cup for my diabetic mother and added 1 extra apple. Wow, it was excellent and devoured for afternoon tea. If this recipe makes 24 serves then I had about 5 serves in one sitting! I couldn't help myself. This has become a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Wonderfu, wonderful, wonderful. This is a regular in our rotation. I usually increase the apples to 5 cups as my family likes more apples, but keep all other ingredients the same. Unfortunately, this "cake" is never fully cooked at 45 minutes (probably due to the extra apples). See most helpful hints from "naples34102" for a glaze that makes this cake go from divine to superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I think this cake is awesome! My only regret is that I didn't taste it first without frosting. I usually don't like cake without frosting so I immediately frosted it with a cream cheese frosting. The cake beneath tastes so good (kind of has a crunchy top like crystalized sugar) that I am sure it would be good without the frosting. Anyway, I did NOT make any changes to ingredients or cooking time and would not make any in the future. I greased and floured the pan per the instructions and had NO trouble with sticking. Perhaps the additional baking time is creating the sticking problem? I planned on giving small plates of this away to my neighbors but now that I've tried it, it will be tempting to inhale it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This cake is EXCELLENT! I baked it in a bundt pan for 55 minutes and drizzled a sugar glaze (confectioner's sugar, vanilla, milk) over it. It looked and smelled so good that my younger son couldn't bear for me to take it to our friends' house...and it tasted even better than it looked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGEL.9
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This cake is INCREDIBLE!!!! First time I made it the cake didn’t last the day. Don’t change the ingredients it just takes away from the perfection, I’ve tried doing variations. Now, the downside. I’ve made this cake many, many times and noticed that it tends to get really moist as time goes on. Eat it FAST. The first day it’s perfect; crusty sweet top and moist mellow inside. The second day it tends to get moist with a wet sticky top and heavier inside. The third day it’s soggy, no other word for it. I don’t know why this happens, to this extreme. But when u have people around it doesn’t always last that long. The other problem I’ve had is that I can’t get the eggs and oil to beat until creamy. They always end up looking like yellow liquid. I don’t know what happens there, maybe it’s because I’m using a stand mixer with a paddle? I’ve tried varying the time I mix from a little to a lot; the good news is the cake still comes out of the oven tasting unbelievable. This is one recipe you have to try!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGEL.9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
I tweaked this recipe a bit and the result was much lower in fat , healthier ,vegan AND tastes richer than the original :) in place of 2 cups plain flour I used 1 cup of whole wheat and 1 cup of cake flour, ener-g egg replacer instead of the 2 eggs, 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil , 11/4 cup of dark brown sugar in place of 2 cups white and I added 1/2 cup of rum soaked raisins (i used whelers vannille') and 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. as the cake was cooling i made a simple glaze with powdered sugar ,whalers vanille and a dash of cinnamon .This cake was very good and drew raves from my husband as well as visiting friends .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This cake was fantastic! I cut the recipe in half to make a 9 inch square pan size. I dusted the top with powdered sugar and had one piece with my husband. At midnight I got up to go sneak another and it was all gone!! My husband loved the density and simplicity of just a touch of cinnamon. Yup, the dough is very thick and hard to work with, but don't thin with anything - you don't need to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I made it exactly as written and it was absolutely amazing! Don't know why you would need to cut down on oil or sugar. It is perfect. The only thing I might change is to dice the apples into smaller chunks rather than slices, but that was my own fault. Excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nora Springs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States