German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe. I sub applesauce for the oil. I've also used pears and zucchini instead of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
The cake is absolutely fantastic! I used all ingredients written in the original recipe and did not change anything. It is really easy to make. I love the spongy taste and the fresh apple "kick" it delivers. I used confectioners sugar on top and it tastes wonderful. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this cake for a coworkers birthday and it was a hit!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it was moist and delicious! I used gala apples and it's was just the right sweetness. Will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I followed the directions didn't change a thing, while the cake tasted ok the cooking time was far to short, mine took 2 hours too cook so it had sunk in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I absolutely loved this cake! I used five apples and all of it cooked perfectly! It seemed very dense when I was scraping it into the pan but it was not dense when I ate it. Please try it and make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I am giving this recipe three stars because it did not turn out the way I expected. I did change a couple of things but didn't think that would change the recipe that much. First, I used a little more than 4 cups of apples. I had about a cup of apples sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon left over from an apple crumb pie, so I used those apples along with some additional plain apples. I also used two loaf pans rather than one 9 x 13 pan, and I sprinkled the pans with a sugar/cinnamon mixture rather than flour. The loaves did not bake through, even though I baked them much longer than called for -- at least 55 minutes; the center of the loaves were soft and wet. I think this happened because I used more than 4 cups of apples, and one of the apples was very juicy. It is a little hard to judge because of the consistency, but I think if I make this again I would cut down on the sugar and definitely use only 4 cups of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bernice
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Didn't change a thing, and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Love this recipe! Just make sure your apples are sliced thin, or even grated. I add a cream cheese frosting for extra sweetness. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mliem
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Super simple and delicious even my ridiculously picky child ate it. I wasn't so sure when I mixed the batter (super thick, paste-like), but came out delicious and moist. I used half brown sugar. It was a little sweeter than I like, so next time I'll reduce by a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The first time I made this, my husband and I ate it in one day! So very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States