German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Loved this recipe . Made it exactly as follows but added 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla . Was super moist and had enough apples for my liking . Only adjustment I would make next time is cut sugar in half (1 cup ) and oil ( substitute applesauce 1/2 oil , 1/2 applesauce ) I found it a little too sweet for my taste. I used sweet apples as well (golden delicious ) so really could have cut sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathansmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I made this today with apples from one of the "wild" trees that grows on our property. I have to admit I didn't measure how many apples I used...I have so many I want to use up so I just added and added! It came out great and the kids loved it. I did change it a bit as I used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce but I do that for pretty much any dessert type bread/cake I make. I didn't bother frosting it...I don't think it needs any. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This cake is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is soooooo good and so easy! The only thing I did differently was use 1cup of white sugar and 1cup of brown sugar. Apples, cinnamon and brown sugar just made sense to me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Delicious..I used all whole wheat pastry flour, and 1/2 brown sugar and white sugar.....also baked in a bunt pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wow, just wow! I like this cake so much. For the first time I made it with a full cup of oil. And it was wonderful, very soft and melting in your mouth. And for the second time I substituted 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesause for oil. And this time the consistence came out a little bit firmer and not so melting. It was still good, but not as good as the cake with a full cup of oil. So if you don't care about your figure just don't change anything. This recipe is perfect without any frostings and custards. Just take into account that if you use bundt or gugelhupf pan, this cake won't be very nice looking if you put your apples in all the batter. Put 1/3 of batter in your bundt pan and then add all the apples in the remaining 2/3 of batter (you can make also a layer of apples between pure batter on the bottom of the pan and batter with apples). Both two times I baked this cake for 60 min. After 45 min. of baking a toothpick inserted in a cake is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
my family loved this cake. moist and tasty. a classic easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
my kids loved this cake. totally forgot to frost it. it doesn't need any frosting it's good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
My entire family is raving about this cake. Made the recipe exactly as stated. So moist and dense! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States