German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good. I cut the recipe in 1/2 and baked in a 5x7 loaf pan. It took quite a bit longer to get done (no fault for the recipe). It was just a little too moist for us and only got worse, almost, just almost soupy after 2 days. I'll move on to another apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I used to make a chunky apple cake in the eighties but lost the recipe so I'm really happy that I found this. I made a few changes. Used only 1/2 cup of olive oil, three eggs (I added the third to make up for some of the liquid) and just under 1 1/2 cups sugar (I included a small amount of brown sugar in that scant 1 1/2 cups), and I used five apples chopped into pieces. When I first saw the batter, I couldn't believe it would fill a 9 x 13 pan but once I added the apples, it fit perfectly. Then I sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon on top. It came out soooo good. Took a little longer than 45 min but I think my oven temp is off. Wow. This is really delicious. And the inclusion of brown sugar gave it a nice dark color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
It was a great recipe my daughter and my co-workers loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This cake was delicious. I'd say it's more of a coffee cake than dessert cake, though. I made it in a bundt pan, which for some reason did NOT work (I'm thinking it was too moist because of all the apples?) - it plopped out of the pan in clumps...but I'm sure a 9x13 would've worked fine. It was pretty soggy even by the late evening of the first day, which I don't mind too much, but by the next morning it was mush. I made the caramel sauce (1 stick butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup heavy cream, boil 3 minutes then add 1 tsp vanilla) that some others recommended and it was delicious poured on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The best apple cake. I made it in a 9 x 13 inch pan and although it seemed overwhelmed with apples (more apples than batter), the result was a crispy outside from the caramelized sugars of the apples and a soft interior. No need for a caramel topping as others suggested, but a dollop of ream was divine! Best served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Heaven! Only thing I changed was to use 1 1/2 cups sugar instead of 2 cups. Doesn't even need a glaze. Super moist and delish. Thank you Barbara for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Perfecto!! This cake is magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Baked this cake for the first time last night. Bakd it late to have for breakfast. My husband and sons didn't wait till the morning. Only had half of the cake left by morning. Per my husband it is the best cake ever. I did make a few adjustments; used 1/2C brown sugar, 1/2C white sugar, 1/2c splenda, 1/2c crasins, 1/2tsp butter flavored extract, only used 1/2c oil, and 1/2c margarine. Soaked the crasins and diced apples in the oil and 1/4c rum, majority of alcohol evaorates when cake is baked. Super moist cake with execellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Holy Cow!! So moist, so delicious!! I added 1/4 tsp of ground cloves and a pinch of ground ginger to my mix and also used 6 apples (various sizes). As soon as the cake came out of the oven I sprinkled sugar over the top. This is a fabulous Apple Cake recipe. I'm going to make it for Thanksgiving. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Basye, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is delicious. I made it in a Bundt pan and it came out crispy and crackly on the outside. I followed the recipe almost exactly, only substituted a little oat flour for some of the all-purpose. I think next time I'll use less sugar; it doesn't need to be as sweet. I'm going to make another one for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States