German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is a really great recipe once I added an extra egg because it seemed a little dry. I added a topping after reading previous reviews. I was going to follow napels' recipe for the topping but I realized I did not have cream halfway through and changed it up to 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 cup of softened butter. Cut it in with the pastry cutter and spread on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Dalman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I am German and I really don't know why this I called a German apple cake! it came out good but way to chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Very nice dense apple cake. If you don't like very sweet cake cut back on the sugar. I used 1 cup of sugar instead of 2 cups. The Batter of this cake is very thick before you add the apples and needs to be folded with a wooden or metal spoon. The cake is delicious and I think it would be even better with some walnuts in it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Family loved this cake. Based on other reviews, I did tweak it a bit by using 3/4 cup oil, 1/4 cup applesauce. Also, 2/3 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar. This cut down the fat and sugar content a little, but maintained the intended flavor and texture. Served with salty caramel ice cream and no frosting/topping was needed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I lost my old favorite recipe and found this one to be as much like it then any other. I cut the oil down less 1/4 cup and the next batch I used my whole wheat flour making it even more interesting and a bit more healthy. Fabulous either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Not the best apple spice cake out on this site. Reduced the sugar down to about 1 1/3 cups as suggested by other reviewers. Not too happy with this as is tasted more bread like. I did increase the cinnamon but kept oil quantities the same. It was very paste like, not sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sean
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I had never made an apple cake before but I made this cake for a co-workers birthday and it was a hit! I followed the recipe and used cinnamon sugar on the pan in place of flour. I made a caramel pecan topping, which just put it over the top. This will be one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Big hit with my family this Thanksgiving! It was gone in 10 minutes!... I made it in a 9x13x2 in. pan and I drizzled a caramel sauce over top! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Massage_Chef#1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this because I wanted to heat up my apartment by using the oven and boy was I surprised! It turned out so moist and I didn't need to add any extra topping or icing. Brought it to work and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I didn't alter the recipe but for leaving off the powdered sugar topping. I'm making it again today for thanksgiving! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Super apple-licious cake! I slipped when removing it from my Bundt pan, and half of it was a pile of crumbs! Yikes! So I ended up shmooshing the crumbled pieces into an 8x8 square glass baker. Topped it with Smuckers caramel topping, and, BAM! That is one awesome cake. Will make it again, and maybe let it cool in the pan a little longer before attempting to de-pan it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States