German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I followed the directions didn't change a thing, while the cake tasted ok the cooking time was far to short, mine took 2 hours too cook so it had sunk in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I absolutely loved this cake! I used five apples and all of it cooked perfectly! It seemed very dense when I was scraping it into the pan but it was not dense when I ate it. Please try it and make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I am giving this recipe three stars because it did not turn out the way I expected. I did change a couple of things but didn't think that would change the recipe that much. First, I used a little more than 4 cups of apples. I had about a cup of apples sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon left over from an apple crumb pie, so I used those apples along with some additional plain apples. I also used two loaf pans rather than one 9 x 13 pan, and I sprinkled the pans with a sugar/cinnamon mixture rather than flour. The loaves did not bake through, even though I baked them much longer than called for -- at least 55 minutes; the center of the loaves were soft and wet. I think this happened because I used more than 4 cups of apples, and one of the apples was very juicy. It is a little hard to judge because of the consistency, but I think if I make this again I would cut down on the sugar and definitely use only 4 cups of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bernice
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Didn't change a thing, and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Love this recipe! Just make sure your apples are sliced thin, or even grated. I add a cream cheese frosting for extra sweetness. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Super simple and delicious even my ridiculously picky child ate it. I wasn't so sure when I mixed the batter (super thick, paste-like), but came out delicious and moist. I used half brown sugar. It was a little sweeter than I like, so next time I'll reduce by a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The first time I made this, my husband and I ate it in one day! So very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Excellent---delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I'm 18 years old and I love everything about Germany so I was looking for German Recipes I came across this one and it sounded really good so I decided to make it I read over the reviews and I loved what the reviews were saying. I just tasted it and Oh my god it so good I recommend it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billkfreak89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Excellent cake - but after makeing it several times, the easest way to mix it is to dive your hands into it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIAMIAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States