German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Five stars with my edits, which I got from other reviewers: Replaced cup of oil with 1/3 c. oil, 2/3 c. unsweetened apple sauce; only used 1 1/4 c. sugar; used 3 t. cinnamon and 5 c. apples. Very yummy cake - more like a breakfast cake than a dessert. I wish I had noticed another reviewers comments that it doesn't keep very well. After 24 hrs it starts to get quite soggy, though when it first comes out of the oven it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Great recipe. I baked it in a bundt pan at 325 for nearly an hour. Only changes I made were to substitute 1/2 the oil with apple sauce and to add in an extra cup of apples. Also added the caramel sauce mentioned in another review (1/2 C Brown Sugar, 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 c. cream); but could have cut the sauce down. The sauce is a great addition, but I don't think it is essential. The cake is amazing all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is delicious! Huge hit in the house! On cake #2! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
A new family favorite! I followed other reviews and used only 1/2 cup of oil, 1-1/2 cups of sugar, 5 cups of apples and instead of flour after greasing the pan I used cinnamon sugar! This cake is absolutely wonderful...so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Fantastic recipe! Moist, flavour packed and simple. I've made it three times; twice as is and the third with raisins, nutmeg, allspice, and a dash of rum flavouring. It's amazing either way. Even better served warm with vanilla bean ice cream or a dollop of whipped cream. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I used 1/2 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of apple butter since I was low on oil. also I cut the sugar down to 1 cup. It was very good the first day, got a little gooey the second day but it disappeared pretty quickly. good snack cake. I will try it with wheat flour next time to make a healthier snack for my kids. I drizzled it with some leftover maple glaze I had and it was very good but sweet and tasty enough on its own. Would be awesome with nuts in it. would recommend cutting apples very small or thinly sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonijolene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sandpoint, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I make this cake several times every fall with apples from the local orchard. I usually use McIntosh. They cook nicely in this cake. One change I do make though is to use 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of light brown sugar. Turns out wonderful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Used this for Sunday school. Everybody loved it.I know where the"soupy" comment came from.It was hard to tell when its done. An outer crust forms that makes the toothpick test kind of hard to perform. Went an hour and could of probably gone another 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States