German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Beat the eggs first. Get them thick then add the oil. Not sure if anyone shared that. There are 700+ posts! I made a lucky mistake of forgetting to add the sugar so I had to start over. concerned with my first batch because oil and eggs didn't get creamy I tried beating the eggs first for my do-over. That's the trick!!! Cake did stick to pan. I used an earthenware bundt and added cinnamon and sugar to coat after the butter and flour. Not sure which was the stick-y cause. Thankfully just a dessert for home so presentation not a big deal. Overall, very tasty by following directions. Gave it four stars because directions should say..... Beat eggs. Add oil. Then add sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Followed the directions exactly and doesn't look like the picture. Falls apart easy. Thinks there is just way too much vegetable oil but I put it in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Sugarman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I wanted to make an apple cake. Instead I made an apple crust with mush underneath. It tasted good, but wouldn't come out of the pan well even though I greased and floured it. My husband thinks it stuck to the pan because there's too much sugar in it. That makes sense. If you want to make this cake, don't follow the recipe to a T, follow other reviewers advice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Followed it to a T and it still was not done. Took over an hour to bake and then still wasnt fully done. Very mushy on the inside and really cripy on the outside, its mor eof a bread pudding than a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This cake turned out amazing! As suggested by other users, I reduced the oil to half a cup. I used half cup white sugar and half cup brown sugar and granny smith apples. I used 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I baked it in a 9.5 inch pie pan. The cake was a little too sweet. Maybe will reduce the sugar even more. Otherwise, the cake was really moist and apple-y. Husband said it was as good as bakery bought. And i trust his cake judgement. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This cake is delicious and it's a great way to use up my extra apples! I used the caramel glaze as recommended by naples34102. I took one bite and went straight to heaven. My (picky) son loved it too. This recipe is a keeper, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I reduced the sugar by a small bit (but that's just preference - I do that with almost all cake recipes) and increased the apple by about 1/2 a cup because we had lots of apples to use... and wow! Wonderful cake. We had company and gave some slices away to friends and neighbours (11 different people tried it) and everyone LOVED it. Great slightly-crunchy outside with a moist inside. The cake flavours are a perfect pairing to the apples. Perfect with just a light dusting of powdered sugar. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
The larger the apple chunks the better, smaller piece equal mush. Have been making it for years golden delicious work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Too much oil! I followed the recipe as it is...it would be yummy, if it was so greasy. Will try again,but change that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States