German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This cake is fantastic. If you need to go lower fat, sub in some applesauce. You lose some of the crunch, but the taste is still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Fabulous cake! It is very sweet and I did use BELEWBUBBLE's idea of using cinnamon sugar rather than flour to line the tin which is wonderful. I will cut down on sugar as they did too to compensate for this next time. A really lovely cake, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Excellent!! substituted one cup brown sugar for 1 cup of the white sugar. Put cream cheese icing on top and sprinkled with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Delicious. Very dense and almost like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I've made this recipe twice and love it! I used granny smith apples both times and it tastes very good. Instead of using oil, I used 3/4 cup to 1 cup of applesauce. Also, I did a few drops of almond extract to add some flavor. I cooked it in a bundt pan instead to make it more pretty. Finally, I made a glaze with some powdered sugar, milk, and almond extract to tie everything together. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
First, it made the whole house smell so good, we couldn't wait to taste it. And it was excellent! I used onkt one cup of sugar and added some dried cranberry. I think some walnuts will add some crunchiness, will try it next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
excellent cake, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Can't say ENOUGH about this recipe! It's SO GOOD! I've made it three times now, the first time I didn't change a thing! And it was YUMMY! The second and third time I made some changes. I used butter spread instead of oil, which I think is what made the difference between the oil one not getting cooked in 45 minutes and my second and third being JUST RIGHT at that mark! I added way more cinnamon and some pumpkin pie spice! We love that stuff! I added extra apples, a lot, I didn't measure. It was VERY apple heavy! I made the carmel sauce in Naples comment but added powdered sugar to it after it was cooled, until it was a frosting consistency and smeared it all over the cake while it was still hot. It is amazing and I'm going to make this ALL THE TIME! One of our new favorites! It would also be amazing with a apple crisp style topping too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This cake had a great flavor and was moist and delicious. I baked mine in a bundt pan for an extra 25 minutes beyond the instructions and it was still very moist without being undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Moist and delicious! I cooked it in a bundt pan for around 55 min. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States