German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Afyter baking it just fell apart completely. It tastes good but I found the exterior too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Delicious! I used frozen apples from our tree last year. I also used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. My only issue was that I tried to use a (greased and floured) bundt pan and I had to bake for at least 15 additional minutes...then it wouldn't come out! So we're eating it straight out of the pan...it's still yummy! Crispy on top, moist in the middle. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monky1234
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Really delicious. Easy to make, but a little hard to deal with the super thick batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
The perfect recipe to lift my mood. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monidipa Sarkar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Super easy recipe! Delicious results! This recipe is very similar to the "One Bowl Apple Cake" I've seen on Facebook. Following other reviewers suggestions I made a couple of changes. 1 1/2c sugar, 1/2c oil, 2 heaping tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ground ginger. The directions on the FB recipe instruct you to mix together the sugar, egg, oil, and spices in a large bowl. Add the apples directly to the wet mixture as you cut them up to prevent browning. After all the apples were added, I sprinkled the dry ingredients over the top and mixed together till the flour was absorbed. I didn't experience the super thick batter other reviewers describe. Next time I'll try the 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar mixture for more depth of flavor. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Really good, used 1.5c sugar but otherwise followed ingredients and directions and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Awesome!!!! As is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Great moist afternoon cake!! I added 3/4 cup rehydrated raisins, added 3 cups thinly sliced apples and 1 cup sliced pears, used only 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce, 2 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon and 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cups white sugar! Amazing moistness and perfect taste, not too sweet, a hit for the entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
They weren't kidding when they said that the batter would be thick. The first time I made it I freaked out and added more flour, sugar, oil, and eventually an extra egg to compensate. Even then, it still turned out really good. Made properly though, it's divine. My family begs me to make this every time we get together now. I highly recommend adding caramel topping to the batter, and also drizzling it on top of the cake when it's done baking, then sprinkling it with cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Excellent apple 'bread'!! Loved it! I thought the batter was waaaaay too stiff, but combining it with the apples makes it just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 878) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States