German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I changed nothing, however; I did make one mistake. I had 4 apples cored/peeled/sliced and used them all. I am not sure how many cups it came to. BUT, I am going to make this cake very soon! I have five gallons of apples to use, and this is a very tasty way to use them! Perhaps cupcakes next time. Also, It was perfect without frosting. I dusted lightly with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Modine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
My mother introduced me to this recipe, and it has become a family favourite!! I've made my own alterations by using whole wheat flour (in part or in whole) and adding a dash of ground cloves, thereby giving it a nutty flavour and reducing the caloric content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Soooo good, but I think other reviewers are right in saying to use less sugar. It was a tiny bit too sweet, but other then that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I really enjoyed this cake served warm and topped with whipped cream. I did however add a little Nutmeg to the recipe to add a little more flavor. The batter is extremely thick and it was difficult to fold in the apples, but with time, I got them folded in. Next time I make this, I think I am going to coat the apples with a mixture of cinnamon and sugar before folding them in to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Love this recipe. We make it often and everyone goes crazy for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't change a thing, but I did make the simple carmel sauce but I halved it and just drizzeled it over the top. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Everyone in my family loves this cake exactly following the recipe. The only change is I use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. This is only because of a vegetable oil intolerance. The flavor of the cake is so strong (and yummy) it masks the coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Newcook1
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I tried this when looking for a cake with the ingredients I already had. As such I changed it just a bit, but It was still amazing. It exceeded my expectations by far. I substituted 1/2 cup coconut oil for the vegetable oil, and ground ginger for cinnamon as I didn't have any. I also added a sprinkling of allspice just because. It turned out incredibly. It is a very dense cake, and it doesn't need icing. The cream cheese icing actually takes away from the pure flavor of the cake, I did however add a little to the center of the cake for those in my family who love icing, however a little powdered sugar goes a long way. On a side note I had to cook it for an extra 20 min. to get it to stay in cake form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Absolutely DELICIOUS! Sooo moist and delectable, especially with naples34102's caramel sauce! It was maybe a little sweet for my liking so I'll cut the sugar next time, but the texture and the cinnamony taste was heavenly. After I took it out of the oven I was worried because it wouldn't set, but I realized that was just because of how moist it was :) thanks for the amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Yang
Photo by Shaakirah
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I've tried the recipe it was pretty tasty. I lessened the amount of oil and sugar and increased cinnamon amount as others suggested. I also used cinnamon and sugar instead of flour to coat the pan. For icing a used a half of stick of cream cheese, 2 1/2 tbs margarine, 2 tbs milk, 3/4 cup confectioners sugar chopped walnuts and dates. Oh yeah and also a tbs vanilla extract. You can adjust measurements according to your taste preference. Thanks for the advice and for this awesome recipe.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 813) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States