German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Excellent cake- no topping is necessary. I halved the recipe and used a loaf pan, which was a perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is an excellent cake, very moist and delicious. I added one more apple, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and some freshly grated nutmeg. I took this to a Sunday school class and had requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This apple cake was a HUGE hit at our house! It was moist and delicious. I used 1 Cup applesauce instead of oil, and 1 Cup of Truvia Baking Blend instead of the 2 cups of sugar. I used jonagold apples fresh from the orchard. It was healthy and delicious! I will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I liked this very much. But I have a different recipe that I like a little better. I I'd like the crustiness of the top, though, and I did sugar-cinnamon line the pan. I also served it its a caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this for my son's first birthday, exactly as written. It was delicious! I also made the glaze recommended by others (butter, brown sugar, cream, vanilla) but didn't use it because the cake was perfect as it was. Per.fect.ion. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nikkidollie
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The most delicious apple dessert I've ever tasted! I topped it with a caramel glaze and sprinkled with toasted walnuts, absolutely delicious. It took a great amount of restraint not to devour the entire cake in one sitting! I used gala apples, which tend to be very sweet, and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cup. It was still a tad too sweet, next time around I will reduce the sugar to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkidollie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It was tasteful, right amount of sweetness and perfect texture. Thanks :D. Keep up the good work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made it as written. Have made with and without glaze on top. Amazing every time! Thanks, Barbara, for a fabulous apple cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I really enjoy experimenting and trying new dessert recipes so it is uncommon for me to go back to one and make it again, even if it came out well (which is usually the case). That being said, this is one I have gone back to and without a doubt will again. Easy to make (dicing the apples is the most work) and absolutely scrumptious - crunchy top and moist, delicious interior. My family (most of whom claim they are "not big on sweets") loves this cake and many of them have asked me for the recipe. I don't make any changes to the recipe other than adding an extra cup of apples- I use a combination of Golden Delicious and Granny Smith and would recommend this to anyone looking for a suggestion for good baking apples. Adding extra apples does not effect the cooking time in my case - the cake is always perfectly done at 45 minutes. Everyone's tastes are different, but I personally find this cake to be perfect without any kind of topping- It just doesn't need one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzo84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redditch, Worcestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Very good. I cut the recipe in 1/2 and baked in a 5x7 loaf pan. It took quite a bit longer to get done (no fault for the recipe). It was just a little too moist for us and only got worse, almost, just almost soupy after 2 days. I'll move on to another apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States