German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Delicious. Very dense and almost like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I've made this recipe twice and love it! I used granny smith apples both times and it tastes very good. Instead of using oil, I used 3/4 cup to 1 cup of applesauce. Also, I did a few drops of almond extract to add some flavor. I cooked it in a bundt pan instead to make it more pretty. Finally, I made a glaze with some powdered sugar, milk, and almond extract to tie everything together. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
First, it made the whole house smell so good, we couldn't wait to taste it. And it was excellent! I used onkt one cup of sugar and added some dried cranberry. I think some walnuts will add some crunchiness, will try it next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
excellent cake, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Can't say ENOUGH about this recipe! It's SO GOOD! I've made it three times now, the first time I didn't change a thing! And it was YUMMY! The second and third time I made some changes. I used butter spread instead of oil, which I think is what made the difference between the oil one not getting cooked in 45 minutes and my second and third being JUST RIGHT at that mark! I added way more cinnamon and some pumpkin pie spice! We love that stuff! I added extra apples, a lot, I didn't measure. It was VERY apple heavy! I made the carmel sauce in Naples comment but added powdered sugar to it after it was cooled, until it was a frosting consistency and smeared it all over the cake while it was still hot. It is amazing and I'm going to make this ALL THE TIME! One of our new favorites! It would also be amazing with a apple crisp style topping too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This cake had a great flavor and was moist and delicious. I baked mine in a bundt pan for an extra 25 minutes beyond the instructions and it was still very moist without being undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Moist and delicious! I cooked it in a bundt pan for around 55 min. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I think this has potential. But made as written and it was way too sweet, wet inside that won't cook, crunchy on top, and it needs major changes. Definitely cut down on the oil and sugar. Definitely bake it in a bundt pan. If you look at the photos you will notice a more cake like consistency in the bundt cakes. The 9x13 pan resulted in a gooey cookie bar consistency. I think it needs more flour also. I also did not care for Naples caramel glaze, it was too buttery tasting and not like caramel at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Five stars with my edits, which I got from other reviewers: Replaced cup of oil with 1/3 c. oil, 2/3 c. unsweetened apple sauce; only used 1 1/4 c. sugar; used 3 t. cinnamon and 5 c. apples. Very yummy cake - more like a breakfast cake than a dessert. I wish I had noticed another reviewers comments that it doesn't keep very well. After 24 hrs it starts to get quite soggy, though when it first comes out of the oven it's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Great recipe. I baked it in a bundt pan at 325 for nearly an hour. Only changes I made were to substitute 1/2 the oil with apple sauce and to add in an extra cup of apples. Also added the caramel sauce mentioned in another review (1/2 C Brown Sugar, 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 c. cream); but could have cut the sauce down. The sauce is a great addition, but I don't think it is essential. The cake is amazing all on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States