German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Maureen Brown Locke
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
After reading some reviews I tried the cake 2 ways. One as it is written here, not changing a thing. It was delicious! I brought it to work and my co-workers devoured it! I also made it again but this time I added a caramel glaze, calling it Caramel Apple Cake. Again, delicious with a capital D! I drizzled the glaze over the cake while still warm so some of it could sink into the cake and then again after the cake was cool. I served it in a deep dish pie dish to catch any left over glaze and as people cut into the cake they scooped up the glaze to put on their individual pieces. Just yummyQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I have made this cake several times now. It is perfect as written. Sometimes I will use half white and half brown sugar but the results are pretty much the same either way. You can cut down on the sugar if your apples are not too tart but I would be careful not to cut it too much and cause the cake to be tasteless. It is great without any topping but you can add a cinnamon and sugar topping before baking and it is very good. Because of the apple I put the cover on the cake pan and put it in the refrigerator after it cools and it seems to keep better. I think it is even better the second day as the apple starts to mix into the cake more. I have rarely had much left by the third day but if kept in the refrigerator it should taste just as good even if the apple and cake are more combined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I have been making this recipe for my family for several years now, and it is always a huge hit in the fall and winter. I have made the cake as-is before, and it is wonderful that way, but over the years we have of course adapted it to our tastes: I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups, I use half whole wheat flour, and I add about 1/4 tsp cardamon along with the cinnamon. This is supposed to be a mildly spiced cake, so don't go overboard with the spices! The recommended 2 tsp of cinnamon is enough to enhance without overwhelming the apples, and the addition of 1/4 tsp of cardamon, I believe, does the same. The cake does not need a frosting. It is almost like a good coffee cake or muffin on its own, but a simple glaze, a dollop of vanilla whipped cream, or a light frosting with a cream cheese or sour cream frosting is also nice. You don't want to weigh down this cake with a thick layer of a heavy frosting. Definitely a winner for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clarisse Peteza May
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Okay. I tried this for the first time in our german pot luck get together just last Friday, 10/3/14. I baked it a night before and didn't taste it but I was actually confident it tasted great. Nothing remains in the potluck, I actually tasted only a slice because it is that goooddddd!!! My gym friends said it was so moist and they thought I bought it in a deli pastry house...what??? I said, I made it from scratch from allrecipes.com lol. So, since I only tasted one slice of the cake, I baked it again last night 10/5/14, with a twist. I added pecans and 2 tablespoonful of almond milk but I changed the vegetable oil to 3/4 cup only and sugar to 1 3/4 cups. Still it was amazing and more moist. I used Cool Whipped Frosting for more decadent taste...wow! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I use a half cup less sugar (personal preference) and make this all the time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Very moist cake! I followed this recipe as written, and the outcome was a very moist and delicious cake. It reminds me of the cake an elderly woman at my church would make during pot lucks when I was a child. Next time I will adjust the sugar based on the apple's natural sweetness as I though it was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I read some reviews and made the following modifications: I used 2/3 cup canola oil, 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar and 5 apples. It turned out delicious and didn't last very long here! On a 9 X 13 pan the cake baked in 35 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Quick, easy and popular recipe, that my husband has asked me to make many times for him and his guests (family/friends). I think I made it 4 times in the first month! His brother has also asked for the recipe and made it several times. It has an unusual crusty top but is perfect as long as you get the baking time right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonnie
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Seriously, make this cake. This one is going in my recipe box at home for keeps. With the addition of the caramel glaze by naples34102 this cake is to die for. Doubled the spices (we like really spices breads) and that was the only change I made. It was made for a party and every single person who tried it was raving about how delicious it was!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 886) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States