German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This cake was delicious. I'd say it's more of a coffee cake than dessert cake, though. I made it in a bundt pan, which for some reason did NOT work (I'm thinking it was too moist because of all the apples?) - it plopped out of the pan in clumps...but I'm sure a 9x13 would've worked fine. It was pretty soggy even by the late evening of the first day, which I don't mind too much, but by the next morning it was mush. I made the caramel sauce (1 stick butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup heavy cream, boil 3 minutes then add 1 tsp vanilla) that some others recommended and it was delicious poured on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
The best apple cake. I made it in a 9 x 13 inch pan and although it seemed overwhelmed with apples (more apples than batter), the result was a crispy outside from the caramelized sugars of the apples and a soft interior. No need for a caramel topping as others suggested, but a dollop of ream was divine! Best served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Heaven! Only thing I changed was to use 1 1/2 cups sugar instead of 2 cups. Doesn't even need a glaze. Super moist and delish. Thank you Barbara for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Perfecto!! This cake is magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djaurora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Baked this cake for the first time last night. Bakd it late to have for breakfast. My husband and sons didn't wait till the morning. Only had half of the cake left by morning. Per my husband it is the best cake ever. I did make a few adjustments; used 1/2C brown sugar, 1/2C white sugar, 1/2c splenda, 1/2c crasins, 1/2tsp butter flavored extract, only used 1/2c oil, and 1/2c margarine. Soaked the crasins and diced apples in the oil and 1/4c rum, majority of alcohol evaorates when cake is baked. Super moist cake with execellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Holy Cow!! So moist, so delicious!! I added 1/4 tsp of ground cloves and a pinch of ground ginger to my mix and also used 6 apples (various sizes). As soon as the cake came out of the oven I sprinkled sugar over the top. This is a fabulous Apple Cake recipe. I'm going to make it for Thanksgiving. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Basye, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is delicious. I made it in a Bundt pan and it came out crispy and crackly on the outside. I followed the recipe almost exactly, only substituted a little oat flour for some of the all-purpose. I think next time I'll use less sugar; it doesn't need to be as sweet. I'm going to make another one for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this cake for hubby and we both loved it! It's definitely a keeper - with a few minor modifications. I always try to make a recipe the first time exactly according to instructions. This one, though... the thought of a full cup of oil made me squishy inside, so I used somewhere between 1/3 and 1/2 cup and made up the rest with unsweetened applesauce. I also cut down on the sugar from 2 cups to 1.5 cups (whoa boy, can you say diabetes???). The cake was still pretty sweet, but not overboard, and very very moist. We ate it un-iced, un-adorned with anything but a dollop of whipped cream. I wouldn't recommend frosting or glazing. It's just too much, too sweet, and completely unnecessary. To the people who complain that it's too soggy? It may be your apple choice. MacIntosh and Cortland tend to cook down and get very mushy when baked. Try using a firmer, slightly more tart variety like Granny Smith. The slices or chunks actually keep their shape instead of cooking down into the batter. Thanks for a great recipe, I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This cake is fantastic. If you need to go lower fat, sub in some applesauce. You lose some of the crunch, but the taste is still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Fabulous cake! It is very sweet and I did use BELEWBUBBLE's idea of using cinnamon sugar rather than flour to line the tin which is wonderful. I will cut down on sugar as they did too to compensate for this next time. A really lovely cake, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 796) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States