German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Wow this is way out of my expectation! I replaced the all purpose flour with cake and bread flour (75% / 25%) and used one apple and half a banana (didn't have enough apples), baked at 375 degrees for the first 15min and 350 for the rest. Turns out the skin is crunchy and inside has the remote texture of a lava cake! Love it! Next time I'll bake 5min less as the skin is little bit too hard when it's completely cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I cut back the oil by a 1/4 cup and cut the sugar in half because I don't like excessive sweet. However, I do drizzle on a caramel glaze. I always bake this in a bundt pan! 55 mins does the trick --make sure to grease & flour your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Made for cabin weekend with family - was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
outside cooked really well in a bundt pan, but inside was super gooey- ended up microwaving my slice for a minute to thoroughly bake my slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
WOW! Amazing cake, guests loved it. Baked in a bundt pan, which took about 15 minutes longer to fully cook. Just did a simple glaze using powdered sugar and apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maureen Brown Locke
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
After reading some reviews I tried the cake 2 ways. One as it is written here, not changing a thing. It was delicious! I brought it to work and my co-workers devoured it! I also made it again but this time I added a caramel glaze, calling it Caramel Apple Cake. Again, delicious with a capital D! I drizzled the glaze over the cake while still warm so some of it could sink into the cake and then again after the cake was cool. I served it in a deep dish pie dish to catch any left over glaze and as people cut into the cake they scooped up the glaze to put on their individual pieces. Just yummyQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I have made this cake several times now. It is perfect as written. Sometimes I will use half white and half brown sugar but the results are pretty much the same either way. You can cut down on the sugar if your apples are not too tart but I would be careful not to cut it too much and cause the cake to be tasteless. It is great without any topping but you can add a cinnamon and sugar topping before baking and it is very good. Because of the apple I put the cover on the cake pan and put it in the refrigerator after it cools and it seems to keep better. I think it is even better the second day as the apple starts to mix into the cake more. I have rarely had much left by the third day but if kept in the refrigerator it should taste just as good even if the apple and cake are more combined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elliel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I have been making this recipe for my family for several years now, and it is always a huge hit in the fall and winter. I have made the cake as-is before, and it is wonderful that way, but over the years we have of course adapted it to our tastes: I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups, I use half whole wheat flour, and I add about 1/4 tsp cardamon along with the cinnamon. This is supposed to be a mildly spiced cake, so don't go overboard with the spices! The recommended 2 tsp of cinnamon is enough to enhance without overwhelming the apples, and the addition of 1/4 tsp of cardamon, I believe, does the same. The cake does not need a frosting. It is almost like a good coffee cake or muffin on its own, but a simple glaze, a dollop of vanilla whipped cream, or a light frosting with a cream cheese or sour cream frosting is also nice. You don't want to weigh down this cake with a thick layer of a heavy frosting. Definitely a winner for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clarisse Peteza May
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Okay. I tried this for the first time in our german pot luck get together just last Friday, 10/3/14. I baked it a night before and didn't taste it but I was actually confident it tasted great. Nothing remains in the potluck, I actually tasted only a slice because it is that goooddddd!!! My gym friends said it was so moist and they thought I bought it in a deli pastry house...what??? I said, I made it from scratch from allrecipes.com lol. So, since I only tasted one slice of the cake, I baked it again last night 10/5/14, with a twist. I added pecans and 2 tablespoonful of almond milk but I changed the vegetable oil to 3/4 cup only and sugar to 1 3/4 cups. Still it was amazing and more moist. I used Cool Whipped Frosting for more decadent taste...wow! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I use a half cup less sugar (personal preference) and make this all the time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States