German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The only change was the oil to 1/2 cup and I baked in bundt pan for about 55 minutes. I also used the caramel glaze that's on this site. I made it for my dad's birthday because he wanted an apple cake and everyone loved it!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I searched for the recipie that most resembled the one my Mom used to make. This was it. Just made it and it's perfect! Moist, simply sweet (better w/out any frosting), and just right for breakfast and coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This cake has become a family favorite fast. I grew up with my Grandmother's apple cake recipe, which everyone loved, but this is so much better than her cake! I didn't change a thing, I followed the recipe exactly.The kids love it with no frosting, just a bit of powder sugar. This is keeper, trust me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! Moist and flavorful! But I also tweaked it just a little after trying it. I replaced half the oil with water (the original recipe is a bit greasy), I used only 1/4 tsp salt. Since I was using very sweet apples I reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup. I also didn't peel them. That gave the cake a little more texture though the cooked peels are very soft, and you get a little more vitamins and fiber. It seems it might also be good with walnuts - maybe sprinkled on top with some chunky sugar crystals. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Delicious and moist - really did not need frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Newman
Home Town: Iroquois Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is a great cake, I followed others notes and used 3/4 cup apple sauce and 1/4 cup oil. the only downfall was I felt there were to many apples (or I cut them to large) I ended up making another 1/2 batch of the cake minus the apples and put it on top. In the end it was delish! I served it with whipped cream and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was fabulous! I used Honeygold apples and cut them in large chunks instead of dicing. I also baked the cake in a bundt pan which lengthened cooking time to over 1 hour, but boy was it worth it! I took another cook's suggestion and made a caramel sauce and that just took the cake over the top! VERY easy and super yummy! I will be making this cake again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panda's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is the first apple cake I ever made and it was AWESOME! I'm not sure why some people commented that it wasn't. I followed the directions, with the exception of subbing half brown sugar for the sugar part. I also took the advice of others and made the caramel sauce...OMG, to die for! I am a pretty decent cook but you don't have to be for this recipe. I will say the batter is extremely thick, almost peanut buttery, but it all cooks together and is absolute wondefulness, especially with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Pleasant enough, however it turned out to be pretty wet in the end and took on a more pudding-like quality instead of cake-y. The recipe called for tons of apples, so that might be the reason it was wet. Took on the other user suggestions of halving the oil to 1/2 cup and reducing the sugar to 1 1/2 cup, which I'm glad I did because I would not have wanted the cake to be even wetter and oilier than it was. Serving this does not look as pretty as a cake would, as it gets pretty messy when cut due to its texture and all the apples getting in the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This cake is absolutely delicious. The only changes I made were to substitute half of the oil with Greek plain yogurt, 1 TBSP of cinnamon and then I added 2 tsps of allspice and 1 tsp of nutmeg. I made it in a bundt pan and then sprinkled confectioner's sugar on top. I ate it for breakfast every morning. I am getting ready to make another one and freezing it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 809) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States