German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is delicious. I made it in a Bundt pan and it came out crispy and crackly on the outside. I followed the recipe almost exactly, only substituted a little oat flour for some of the all-purpose. I think next time I'll use less sugar; it doesn't need to be as sweet. I'm going to make another one for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Made this cake for hubby and we both loved it! It's definitely a keeper - with a few minor modifications. I always try to make a recipe the first time exactly according to instructions. This one, though... the thought of a full cup of oil made me squishy inside, so I used somewhere between 1/3 and 1/2 cup and made up the rest with unsweetened applesauce. I also cut down on the sugar from 2 cups to 1.5 cups (whoa boy, can you say diabetes???). The cake was still pretty sweet, but not overboard, and very very moist. We ate it un-iced, un-adorned with anything but a dollop of whipped cream. I wouldn't recommend frosting or glazing. It's just too much, too sweet, and completely unnecessary. To the people who complain that it's too soggy? It may be your apple choice. MacIntosh and Cortland tend to cook down and get very mushy when baked. Try using a firmer, slightly more tart variety like Granny Smith. The slices or chunks actually keep their shape instead of cooking down into the batter. Thanks for a great recipe, I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This cake is fantastic. If you need to go lower fat, sub in some applesauce. You lose some of the crunch, but the taste is still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Fabulous cake! It is very sweet and I did use BELEWBUBBLE's idea of using cinnamon sugar rather than flour to line the tin which is wonderful. I will cut down on sugar as they did too to compensate for this next time. A really lovely cake, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Excellent!! substituted one cup brown sugar for 1 cup of the white sugar. Put cream cheese icing on top and sprinkled with nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Delicious. Very dense and almost like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I've made this recipe twice and love it! I used granny smith apples both times and it tastes very good. Instead of using oil, I used 3/4 cup to 1 cup of applesauce. Also, I did a few drops of almond extract to add some flavor. I cooked it in a bundt pan instead to make it more pretty. Finally, I made a glaze with some powdered sugar, milk, and almond extract to tie everything together. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
First, it made the whole house smell so good, we couldn't wait to taste it. And it was excellent! I used onkt one cup of sugar and added some dried cranberry. I think some walnuts will add some crunchiness, will try it next time :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
excellent cake, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Can't say ENOUGH about this recipe! It's SO GOOD! I've made it three times now, the first time I didn't change a thing! And it was YUMMY! The second and third time I made some changes. I used butter spread instead of oil, which I think is what made the difference between the oil one not getting cooked in 45 minutes and my second and third being JUST RIGHT at that mark! I added way more cinnamon and some pumpkin pie spice! We love that stuff! I added extra apples, a lot, I didn't measure. It was VERY apple heavy! I made the carmel sauce in Naples comment but added powdered sugar to it after it was cooled, until it was a frosting consistency and smeared it all over the cake while it was still hot. It is amazing and I'm going to make this ALL THE TIME! One of our new favorites! It would also be amazing with a apple crisp style topping too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States