German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I've made this three times now, and it's always mushy and lacking texture. I'm sad too because the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is a keeper. So moist and very easy to make. The caramel sauce shared by another reviewer went really well with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe. Only did two things differently, I used about 4 1/2 cups apples and I used applesauce instead of oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I had 3 large apples that weren't that good for eating so I decided to make this cake. I used 1/2 c melted butter and 1/2 c fat free sour cream for the oil. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, used half white and half brown. I also used 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 2 tsps baking powder and 1/2 tsp baking soda. I used half all purpose and half whole wheat flour as well. I baked in a 9x9 pan, 43 minutes was perfect in my oven. My family really enjoyed this cake, it was light and fluffy and nicely spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I ALWAYS have a problem getting any cake I make to bake all the way through. So I was a little worried when I read all the reviews of people complaining about that happening with this cake. Ironically, this is the ONE cake recipe I've followed where the cake baked *perfectly*. I did have to bake it for longer, I'm not sure how long it ended up being exactly... an hour and 15 minutes, I think. But after that it came out just right. I followed the recipe closely but used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk (since it seemed like a LOT of oil and I didn't have vanilla extract). Since the soy milk was sweetened I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups instead of 2. The cake is absolutely delicious and not soggy, dense or mushy at all. The only thing I might change next time is cutting back a little more on the sugar, is a cup of sugar per cup of flour really necessary? I was torn between giving this cake 4 or 5 stars, if it weren't for the inaccurate baking time and excess sugar and oil listed I'd say this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious cake. Following advice of others, I used 1/2 cup of oil, 1 cup white sugar & 1/2 cup brown sugar. Substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for white. Added raisins and walnuts, coated pan with cinnamon sugar. It was still a bit too sweet, so I might reduce the sugar a bit next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
MMM MMM MMM I have tried this recipe with less sugar, less oil, without any modifications, made it a total of 7 times now. This is an amazing recipe good for novice or pro. Lori F. who said it burned on the outside and mushy on the inside, perhaps check your ovens temp. This is a no fail recipe. Absolute wonderful comfort food. Once in a while I do add a struesel topping, but would not recommend icing it. Perfect with a cup of coffee, for brunch or as a pot luck. Thank you Barbara for a wonderful staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The recepi is great, but I think there's an error in the amount of sugar. Put the sugar almost in have and it's perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Let the cake cool completely before icing or covering to fully enjoy the crunchy outside and the moist inside. I always asked for this cake on my birthday and 50 years later, it's still a family favorite. Mom's version includes a cup of pecans, and 1 tsp nutmeg replaces 1 tsp cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is a fantastic cake with no changes. It is a little wet when cooked but that is from the apples. I received tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 796) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States