German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Tried this today! Are you kidding me!!?The batter was so thick it could barely be spread. My father was a professional baker, I know a decent recipe when I make one. Yuck!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Easy to make, moist and yummy. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DinaLaChef
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was a tasty, thick cake that makes a beautiful presentation. Changes I made were cutting the serving size to 12 and modified that ingredient list to make it a healthier cake--subbed applesauce for oil, used only 1/2 cup sugar (mostly all brown, about 2 tbsp of white) and whole wheat flour. I dusted the pan with flour, brown sugar and cinnamon. The final coat of powdered sugar added a nice sweetness. Note: I'm sure this recipe with the original ingredients is very tasty. These modifications I tried produce a fruit cake that is good for people who don't have a super sweet tooth and prefer healthier ingredients in their desserts. Additional ideas for making the healthier recipe a bit sweeter are adding a dollop of honey or serving warm with butter and preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinaLaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Afyter baking it just fell apart completely. It tastes good but I found the exterior too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Delicious! I used frozen apples from our tree last year. I also used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. My only issue was that I tried to use a (greased and floured) bundt pan and I had to bake for at least 15 additional minutes...then it wouldn't come out! So we're eating it straight out of the pan...it's still yummy! Crispy on top, moist in the middle. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monky1234
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Really delicious. Easy to make, but a little hard to deal with the super thick batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
The perfect recipe to lift my mood. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monidipa Sarkar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Super easy recipe! Delicious results! This recipe is very similar to the "One Bowl Apple Cake" I've seen on Facebook. Following other reviewers suggestions I made a couple of changes. 1 1/2c sugar, 1/2c oil, 2 heaping tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ground ginger. The directions on the FB recipe instruct you to mix together the sugar, egg, oil, and spices in a large bowl. Add the apples directly to the wet mixture as you cut them up to prevent browning. After all the apples were added, I sprinkled the dry ingredients over the top and mixed together till the flour was absorbed. I didn't experience the super thick batter other reviewers describe. Next time I'll try the 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar mixture for more depth of flavor. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Really good, used 1.5c sugar but otherwise followed ingredients and directions and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Awesome!!!! As is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States