German Apple Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Absolutely DELICIOUS! Sooo moist and delectable, especially with naples34102's caramel sauce! It was maybe a little sweet for my liking so I'll cut the sugar next time, but the texture and the cinnamony taste was heavenly. After I took it out of the oven I was worried because it wouldn't set, but I realized that was just because of how moist it was :) thanks for the amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Yang
Photo by Shaakirah
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I've tried the recipe it was pretty tasty. I lessened the amount of oil and sugar and increased cinnamon amount as others suggested. I also used cinnamon and sugar instead of flour to coat the pan. For icing a used a half of stick of cream cheese, 2 1/2 tbs margarine, 2 tbs milk, 3/4 cup confectioners sugar chopped walnuts and dates. Oh yeah and also a tbs vanilla extract. You can adjust measurements according to your taste preference. Thanks for the advice and for this awesome recipe.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
DE-LISH!!!! No Edits Needed. Perfect the way it is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe. I sub applesauce for the oil. I've also used pears and zucchini instead of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
The cake is absolutely fantastic! I used all ingredients written in the original recipe and did not change anything. It is really easy to make. I love the spongy taste and the fresh apple "kick" it delivers. I used confectioners sugar on top and it tastes wonderful. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this cake for a coworkers birthday and it was a hit!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it was moist and delicious! I used gala apples and it's was just the right sweetness. Will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I followed the directions didn't change a thing, while the cake tasted ok the cooking time was far to short, mine took 2 hours too cook so it had sunk in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I absolutely loved this cake! I used five apples and all of it cooked perfectly! It seemed very dense when I was scraping it into the pan but it was not dense when I ate it. Please try it and make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I am giving this recipe three stars because it did not turn out the way I expected. I did change a couple of things but didn't think that would change the recipe that much. First, I used a little more than 4 cups of apples. I had about a cup of apples sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon left over from an apple crumb pie, so I used those apples along with some additional plain apples. I also used two loaf pans rather than one 9 x 13 pan, and I sprinkled the pans with a sugar/cinnamon mixture rather than flour. The loaves did not bake through, even though I baked them much longer than called for -- at least 55 minutes; the center of the loaves were soft and wet. I think this happened because I used more than 4 cups of apples, and one of the apples was very juicy. It is a little hard to judge because of the consistency, but I think if I make this again I would cut down on the sugar and definitely use only 4 cups of apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bernice
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Didn't change a thing, and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States