Georgie's Mango Papaya Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Completely excellent. I made this as directed except for using more mango and avocado - and I layered instead of tossed because I like the way it looks. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This isn't just a side salad, as yes, it could be. It can also be a hot summer day meal, a desert, or a tasty snack. When canding almonds always stir through the whole cooking time, then they won't burn. I thought this was good enough to put on my new resturant menu. Koodoo's to the cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Fantastic! I'm not a huge fan of either mango or papaya, but this blew me away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was so refreshing. We had this as a side salad for dinner, but I could see this with a sandwich at lunch. The "dressing" was an unexpected surprise. I was concerned that it would have a strange taste, but the balsamic vinegar added just the right tartness to balance out sweetness of the fruit. I forgot to add the almond brittle when I served this, but we noshed on that after dinner making it a wonderful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattiearnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I made it with white balsamic vinegar (I've only just recently discovered it - I like it much more than the dark - and also a Romaine/iceberg mix. I was really surprised how well the fruits and avocado went together. The dressing is also really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This was a really tasty salad and perfect for what I had in mind. I did use less vinegar and butter but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rdy4fn24

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The flavors of this salad were amazing! Great textures, especially enjoyed the candied almonds. This will be a great accompaniment to grilled chicken in the future. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pnckell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I really wanted to like this. And it was good. However, "sugaring" the almonds was tricky, burnt them on the first try. watch the amount of butter. also the dressing, though good, is heavy. do NOT put on until just before serving. after that, doesn't take long for the fruits to turn into mush. also the prep time on this has got to be wrong. 15 minutes? took me that long to do the mango and papaya and get them in the blender for the dressing. 55 minutes, although I did use an extra mango. still way off. I gave it 3 stars because it took too long, was expensive and not a light summer salad as I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was very healthy and light and decent, but not spectacular. I figure that the salad is only as good as the ripeness of the fruits. Unusual combination of fruits though, considering avocado season is in the winter, so I couldn't get all my fruits ripe at the same time. I candied almonds using only white sugar and heating them in a NONSTICK pan (very important). Then I let them cool on GREASED wax paper. Not sure I'll make this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States