Georgian Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Just edible. Not worth a second helping let alone making again. The combination of flavors, and particularly the cilantro, just didn't work here. Hubby said the cilantro with the green beans was an "unnatural act." I expect more from a dish with so many ingredients in the seasoning. Once again, this dish proves simple is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2002
Absolutely delicious. The red wine vinegar adds the perfect amount of "tang." I didn't have red onions on hand so I substituted dried, minced onions and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
It was 2004 when I first reviewed this recipe. As suggested by others added bacon, and sauteed the onion and garlic in some bacon fat. I'm still making them, I have two kids now and this is only 1 of two vegetables they will eat! This is the first time I leave a review (shame on me I use this site all the time) Everyone loved these green beans, I was pressed for time so I used french cut green beans, cooked them completely and added all other ingredients as per the recipe except the chicken broth (I did not want a sauce )my cousin - as he was serving himself again- kept saying how he just did not like green beans. I've read comments like this before and never got such results, but this time I did! Try it! The vinegar, sweet taste of the red onion and bacon just make it a great side dish, I've made it twice in the last two weeks because my husband asked me to! HE DOES NOT EAT VEGGIES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
These were the best green beans i have ever had! Deliciously flavourful. The cilantro is just genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I used white onions cut in rings & skipped the boiling step. I prefer my veggies with a little texture to them. I sauteed them for about 8 minutes covered and completely ignored them the whole time. These were the best green beans I have had in years! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I am not a picky eater at all and neither is my roomate, i can't believe this is a 5 star recipe, these were horrible, will def not make again, they have a very bland strange taste to them, go on to the next green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALETVETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
BTW, I forgot to mention, they aren't Georgia Green Beans as in the American South, but rather, from the country in Eastern Europe. Sorry about the confusion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
Ran acrosss this recipe and after reading the reviews, I figured if the non green bean lovers, such as Dreginek liked this dish, it must be good. I'm not a big green bean lover either, so I decided to use brussel sprouts instead. LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!!! I plan to try this with other vegies too. Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
The best green beans I've ever tasted. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
These made a great vegetable. The red onions sauteed almost gave it a sweet taste. The cilantro (which I love anyway) was the key. My husband suggested we add real bacon bits next time. I cooked the beans longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States