Georgian Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
It was 2004 when I first reviewed this recipe. As suggested by others added bacon, and sauteed the onion and garlic in some bacon fat. I'm still making them, I have two kids now and this is only 1 of two vegetables they will eat! This is the first time I leave a review (shame on me I use this site all the time) Everyone loved these green beans, I was pressed for time so I used french cut green beans, cooked them completely and added all other ingredients as per the recipe except the chicken broth (I did not want a sauce )my cousin - as he was serving himself again- kept saying how he just did not like green beans. I've read comments like this before and never got such results, but this time I did! Try it! The vinegar, sweet taste of the red onion and bacon just make it a great side dish, I've made it twice in the last two weeks because my husband asked me to! HE DOES NOT EAT VEGGIES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I am not a picky eater at all and neither is my roomate, i can't believe this is a 5 star recipe, these were horrible, will def not make again, they have a very bland strange taste to them, go on to the next green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MALETVETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
BTW, I forgot to mention, they aren't Georgia Green Beans as in the American South, but rather, from the country in Eastern Europe. Sorry about the confusion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
These made a great vegetable. The red onions sauteed almost gave it a sweet taste. The cilantro (which I love anyway) was the key. My husband suggested we add real bacon bits next time. I cooked the beans longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
Ran acrosss this recipe and after reading the reviews, I figured if the non green bean lovers, such as Dreginek liked this dish, it must be good. I'm not a big green bean lover either, so I decided to use brussel sprouts instead. LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!!! I plan to try this with other vegies too. Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Since the garden produced sooo many green beans, I am in search of ways to use them up! Although I still am not a huge fan of green beans - this was pretty good - even for me (although I'm still not fully converted)! My daughter loved them ~ but she likes green beans no matter what. Thanks Sara - believe it or not - I WILL make this green bean recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
So, so, so good. I ran out of chicken broth so I used beef broth instead and the tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
oh, yeah... I would have sworn Southern green beans had to be loaded with animal fat, but these were quite good. I used a minimal amount of a low-fat butter substitute instead of butter, and couldn't help but be impressed by the flavor of one of our new healthy sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Very Good. My whole family ate the green beans all up. No leftovers in this household. Very healthy and tasty, plus the fresh green beans made the meal better rather then canned gren beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I tried this recipe over the christmas holidays. I made it for our Sunday School class and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States