Georgia Peach Homemade Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This ice cream is absolutely one of the best homemade varieties I've ever tried. Every year when we travel through Georgia, we stop at a peach plant off the interstate to buy tons of fresh peaches to bring home - and this ice cream is almost identical to the one they make at their cafe. The only changes I made were that I used fat free for the 2 canned milks and 1 % milk not whole - all to cut down on the fat content. The batch froze extremely well in our home machine. We made it twice in one week it was so popular with friends and family while our peaches were still fresh!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is an outstanding recipe! Very easy to make! The only thing missing is salt! One should always lightly salt an ice cream to bring out the flavor! 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon. I found it rather funny the handful of reviewers who indicated that this recipe didn't have any flavor. If your ice cream doesn't have any flavor the peaches you used were junk! Probably store bought, pick green weeks ago, no aroma, no flavor, shipped hundreds, if not thousands of miles, mass produced junk! When you're searching for the right peach, pick it up, hold it to your nose and sniff. If there is an excellent peach aroma that makes your mouth water, that peach will be good to eat or use in ice cream, or a baked good. If you smell little or nothing, the peach is junk and you might as well just use canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I loved this! my ice cream maker is small, and I ended up not adding any milk at the end ( just the evaporated milk and sweetened condensed milks) I had very ripe peaches so I just mushed them up well and left some chunks. I think the flavor was great- the additional milk seems like it would dilute it too much for me! Am buying more peaches tomorrow to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Wonderful! So simple and delicious! I used 4 LARGE peaches (blanched them in boiling water then transferred to an ice bath - the skin peels right off) and 1 cup of sugar. I was happy to find the recipe didn't call for raw eggs - that always makes me uncomfortable! Will definitely make again, and may try changing up the main flavor ingredient as I bet this makes a perfect base for other flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Delicious! I had a hankering for peach ice cream. Started this recipe but discovered that the kids had eaten some of my peaches! I had two ripe mangos so I completed the 2 1/2 lbs needed with chopped up mangos and it was to die for! I followed the recipe exactly other than adding the mangos, everyone loved it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Good consistency but not enough peach flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Very Good! Next time I might use a little more sugar and I was hoping for a little more peach flavor but we solved that by using canned peach preserves and whipped cream for topping. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Not bad! Than again I dont have that much experience in homemaking ice cream. I used 4 cups of chopped drained canned peach slices. I like how easy it is, I'm not too crazy about cooking the ice cream base before putting it in the ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Mmmm this was great and easy, thanks! I made it a nice light peach color by adding 2 drops red and 6 drops yellow food coloring before freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Excellent recipe. Make the ice cream with no changes. Easy, fast freezing time. Great as soft serve consistency and even better after it spent some time in the freezer. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States