Genuine Egg Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe resulted in perfect noodles for my Chicken and Noodles. I second the other reviewer's advice: "When you think you have them rolled thin enough, roll them more."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Great recipe when you think that you have them rolled thin enough roll them more. I cooked them fresh stir gently and be sure your broth is at a good rolling boil. Do not over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I use 3 half shells of water and then a little more if needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Tasted pretty good. I used 5 eggs and maybe 1/2 cup water. I think I rolled them to thick. But I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This is the way my mother and I made noodles, with the exception of the furham wheat flour. The rolling and cutting instructions are right on. Drying is important. I've always liked my noodles quite thin but never even guesstimated the thickness. These, when dried will freeze very well so you can always have them on hand when you need/want them. Thanks for the post cause "the old ways" are being forgotten along with the art of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
good recipe but my best friend (zach) and i (trey) did it in 15 minutes not 3h and 50m and it took 5m of prep and then we let it dry for about 5m then we put it in with our chicken and chicken broth to make chicken and noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Although I used the recipe as a rough guideline (I'm one of those cooks that dosen't really measure anything unless baking) it's easy enough for even a novice cook to make an excellent meal. Being single it's easy to slip into eating fast food day after day, but having simple and easy to follow ways to make childhood fravorites saves not only money, but also our health. Thank you for the Recipe (I never had made egg noodles before, despite cooking nearly every day for almost 6 years)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scott City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My noodles turned out well overall. The main complaint I have with this recipe is that no ballpark amount of water is indicated, and I initially added too much (even though I've made similar egg noodles before). I had to add a lot more flour to counteract my mistake, and it may have impacted the flavor. To dry these noodles faster I spread them on cookie sheets and put them in an oven set to 175 for about 35 minutes. It worked very well. I suggest making a big batch (maybe double or triple) and freezing them to keep on hand so that you can have homemade taste without all the prep work each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I don't know what I did wrong, but these noodles turned out terrible, too hard, not a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Easy to make and traditional home cooking at its best, my family went wild for these noodles in simple chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

How to Make Homemade Egg Pasta

Learn how easy it is to make fresh homemade egg pasta with your stand mixer.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States