Genoise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
A delicious feathery génoise in an ideal size. I used superfine sugar (I pulverized the required amount of ordinary sugar in my blender for a few seconds), I clarified the butter, and I sifted the flour 4 times and then a last time over the batter when folding it in. A great cake one can eat plain, although there's nothing plain about that génoise. I'll make it again - it's so versatile, and I might try other flavourings than vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is the strangest cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This is it, the only cake that took me off my diet. Soft and delicious recipe used not only for cakes but for petits fours, madeleines, lady fingers and miniature Florentine squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by strictlyrouge
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
wonderful recipe! perfect for my petits fours. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strictlyrouge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I have never made this cake before or even heard of it, so I really don't have anything to compare it to. It tastes good, but it is kind of flat. I followed the directions exactly. I am still going to try to use it to make petit fours. Hopefully they turn out ok with this cake. I think I will use a different cake recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is so far the best GENOISE recipe I have tasted and tested. This is quite similar to the ways the ITALIANS bake their own sponge cake. This is an excellent recipe and is simplified for an easy understanding of the procedure. I modified some ingredients because I ran out of them---cake flour, I used ALL PURPOSE FLOUR. I added 1 egg, thinking- it should soften the cake since I was not using a cake flour and I have no corn starch powder to improvise on a cake flour! I used POWDERED SUGAR (CONFECTIONER). All turned out well. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIZZICATTO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is the classic sponge cake recipe. It is flat tasting because you need to soak the cake with simple syrup first before decorating it.(That is why it is called a "sponge") Mix equal parts of sugar and water and heat to just boiling, one cup of each should be enough for one cake. Add flavor of your choice, about 2 teaspooons. One cup of syrup will be enough for one cake. Split the cake into 2 horizontal layers and wih a pasry brush apply the syrup to each layer. To finish the cake you can use buttercream or sweetened whipped cream. In between the layers can be fruit or jam or more of the frosting. This is a delicious cake when make properly as the direcions indicate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenMarie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
not sure if this is supposed to taste like scrambled eggs or not, but it did. followed directions exactly, was super careful folding the whites, and still it came out with an OVERWHELMING egg taste. maybe thats the point of genoise, i don't know, but if you are just looking for a petits four base, i would not recommend this or ever use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belladonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is a heavenly cake. Mine was neither flat tasting nor eggy tasting, as previous reviews suggest. I'm a batter taster, even though it's supposedly bad for you, but even prior to cooking is was a delicious fluffy sweet vanilla. One thing to make sure of though, is when you are beating the eggs, make sure your whisk, whisk attachments and bowl are absolutely oil free. Any reside oil makes the eggs difficult to get fluffy, and fluffiness is the key to this recipe. Also be very very gentle folding in your ingredients and while adding them to the bowl itself, you what to preserve as many air bubbles as possible. Some things I changed: used ultrafine bakers sugar and sifted my ingredients twice (once to shift together and then once while I was gently adding them to the bowl). I also like vanilla flavor so added 2 tsp rather than 1 ½ tsp. When done it is a beautiful sponge cake. This is a perfect base for my petit fours. I’ll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Crockett, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasia84
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I'm making a fruit filled layer cake and this is perfect because it's not too sweet. I just made it and it's better than expected and a lot easier than it sounded in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States