Geneva's Ultimate Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This soup was as good as its reviews. I used a yellow hot pepper in lieu of the wax pepper and normal paprika. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very Good and easy recipe. Flavors are very nice. I did add a bit of white wine to my onions and butter, a couple of dashes of hot sauce and of worchestershire. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Loved it! No butter used olive oil instead. 24oz.of baby bella mushrooms. Used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of skim milk and used a sweet red pepper in place of the wax. I love dill so that with mushrooms are amazing anyway. Filling and hearty yet low fat and low carb. Very tasty and will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I forgot to add sour cream, but still loved it enough for 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
One of the best mushroom soups I have had in a long while....I did make some alterations (and in no way am I say it is better this way as I did not try it the original way) - I used my own hot paprika - I like things a bit spiced up - I roughly chopped a couple of tomatoes and threw them in about 5 minutes before serving -I actually slivered the raw pepper and mixed it into the yoghurt which I dolloped on top just before serving - I had no parsley so I used finely chopped coriander.. A nice warm and filling soup (if you chop chunky it is almost like a stew!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Zurrieq, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Delicious, easy to make soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Spectacular! I have a Hungarian wax pepper plant and I'm trying to find recipes using them. This one was a sure winner! I didn't have any fresh dill so I used 1.5 tsps dried dill instead. This soup is rediculously good! i used a mix of baby bella and white mushrooms. I love that it uses skim milk and light sour cream, too. I only used a quarter of a tsp of salt instead of the full one that the recipe calls for, as well as low sodium soy sauce. I didn't have Hungarian paprika, so I just used regular paprika. After removing the wax pepper and tomato, I ended up chopping them up and using them as a garnish. I usually do not care for dill but it was perfect in this soup! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Was looking for new ways to use my Hungarian wax peppers out of the garden and this soup was a great find. I think I will be making this a few more times this summer, so I can freeze it and stow it away for the winter. As an aside: while making the soup, I did not discard the pepper or the tomato as I felt they added great texture and depth. Other great features of this recipe is that it is very filling as well as satisfying and can be easily converted into a vegetarian option. Overall a wonderful recipe, thanks Geneva for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is incredibly creamy and delicious! Even though it's 90 degrees and humid outside, I'm cooking this soup and enjoying it with the A/C on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
oh, i really loved this. the flavors were very interesting in such a wonderful way. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States