Geneva's Ultimate Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Loved it! No butter used olive oil instead. 24oz.of baby bella mushrooms. Used fat free 1/2 & 1/2 instead of skim milk and used a sweet red pepper in place of the wax. I love dill so that with mushrooms are amazing anyway. Filling and hearty yet low fat and low carb. Very tasty and will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Loved this soup! This gave me the base for what ended up being one of the best soups I think I've made! I had to adjust because my hubby is allergic to dairy & wheat (so no flour, milk or sour cream) and I added extra spices for personal taste. I bet it is wonderful just as it is but here are my additions for those that may like them. Used soy flour, plain soy milk, cubes of firm tofu, 1 can of stewed tomatoes & extra chicken broth. Spices were dashes of curry, smoked paprika (along with the sweet Hungarian paprika as listed) seasoned salt & pepper. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
A wonderful rich soup that my hubby and I absolutely love! We will make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This soup is awesome! I love that it didn't have cream in it. I added a couple diced tomatoes at the end and toasted some bread to add as a crouton on the top. Super flavorful for something that doesn't have meat in it. I didn't have chicken broth so I just used water and it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made a few changes to make this a vegan soup. Used 1 1/2 cups soy milk and no sour cream. A tad of Olive Oil instead of butter. A few minor changes too, based on items on hand. Still was great! Will make double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Fantastic hearty soup. Brings back memories of wild mushroom soup my father used to make. Along with fresh rye bread it becomes great comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Spectacular! I have a Hungarian wax pepper plant and I'm trying to find recipes using them. This one was a sure winner! I didn't have any fresh dill so I used 1.5 tsps dried dill instead. This soup is rediculously good! i used a mix of baby bella and white mushrooms. I love that it uses skim milk and light sour cream, too. I only used a quarter of a tsp of salt instead of the full one that the recipe calls for, as well as low sodium soy sauce. I didn't have Hungarian paprika, so I just used regular paprika. After removing the wax pepper and tomato, I ended up chopping them up and using them as a garnish. I usually do not care for dill but it was perfect in this soup! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, except for using regular butter, milk, and sour cream instead of unsalted and lowfat varieties. I added a few more chopped tomatoes to the top of this when I served it. So there I was, trying to decide if I like this Hungarian mushroom soup better than the other Hungarian mushroom soup on the site and...oh! I don't HAVE to decide, huh? What a relief! Thanks for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I can`t get enough of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Tasty and VERY filling soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States