General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very good, but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Very nice recipe. I will definitely repeat! I had my doubts but it all came together in the pan I didn't have a wok, so I used a pan on max 10 heat with peanut oil. mmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Absecon, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Well, it was edible. Definitely not General Tsao's Chicken. Followed the directions word for word. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristynasmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Very good but kind of a lot of work. Didn't deep fry, just browned in some peanut oil in a frying pan. Used the soy sauce and egg as a wash then coated in cornstarch. The sauce was a bit sweet. I used splenda and next time would cut that in half. My chicken must have been small because it was only four servings (with rice) so there was plenty of sauce to go around. Added red pepper flakes after to make some of the meal kid friendly and not so hot for everyone. Hubby loved it, 5 year old ate it but not always willingly. Will definitely make again, just not on a weeknight. Reminded me very much of PF Chang's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was a fabulous meal! Easy to make and tastes great! I recommend adding more water to thin out the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Really tasty. I first made this with just the breaded chicken, and used it in a stir fry with some bottled sauce to save time. It was good. The second time I made the sauce as well and it was even better. This gets better every time I make it. Tastes fine without the MSG. I always make it with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
this recipe was great using the reviewers' suggestions. i also got a tip from another website...the KEY is when coating the chicken to mix the egg and soy sauce together and put the cornstarch in a ziploc bag. it's easier and less messy to coat the chicken this way. I only used 2T of cornstarch and 2T of apple cider vinegar(all i had) and 3T of sugar for the sauce..then i doubled it (but not the vinegar). it was delicious! Will definitely make again. Thanks to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
great chicken, tastes kind of like the chang's chicken from PF Changs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Wow! This is amazing! I took the advice of several reviews but next time I will cut down on the crushed red pepper (1 Tablespoon would be enough), and I will make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamad
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
2TBS crushed chili peppers is super hot but it was really good. Just fed it to my husband and sister-in-law and they loved it. I used white vinegar instead of the wine vinegar and used a bit less starch in the sauce. I didn't add the oil to the chicken before cooking either. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States