General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very yummy, but still not crispy enough :(. I used 3 T cornstarchfor the sauce and it was still too much. will try 2 T next time, and maybe some orange zest I think would go really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I can never remember to read the reviews. I will use less corn starch in sauce next time. I didnt have white wine vinegar so I used red. No MSG here. I battered with flour instead of more corn starch. I pan fried instead of deep fried, and used that same pan to finish it. It was very tasty - a little corn starchy but not bad, it still tasted good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
The tempura mixture for this contains WAY to much soy sauce. I recommend cutting back on it by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
absolutely restaurant quality recipe.... I will be making this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My family loved this. Took a little longer to prepare than other recipes, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe was excellent with some of the modifications from other reviewers. I cut the cornstarch to 2 tablespoons in the sauce, and I put half cornstarch/half flour in a plastic bag and put a few pieces of the marinated chicken in at a time to coat. Also used one tablespoon of crushed red peppers in place of the chili peppers. Tasted just like a good Chinese restaurant's General Tsao's! Family loved it and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great recipe. Tastes like some of my favorite restaurants do. I cut back on the corn starch as many suggested but I ended up adding more in when i was cooking the sauce. I also added more soy sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
It left a taste in my mouth I couldn't get rid of for two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delish! Only change I will make is just a few tablespoons of cornstarch in the cauceinsteadvof the 1/2 cup. It came out slightly too thick, but amazing! Thank youfor the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrawatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
One of the best recipes on this site! I followed other's comments and reduced the cornstarch. I also pan fried, rather than deep fried, the chicken. The other substitute that worked is that I used 1 1/2 t of chili garlic paste and 1 1/2 t of crushed red pepper flakes in place of the whole chilies. It gave it a great spicy flavor and was easy to adjust as we cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States