General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was great! I doubled the ginger and garlic, only used 1/2 cup of sugar, and didn't fry the chicken. I'll use at least 1/2 the corn starch in the sauce next time. I also added one sliced red pepper and I cut up head of broccoli to add some vitamins while only using 2 lbs chicken. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
CUT THE CORNSTARCH DOWN TO 2 TABLESPOONS. My gods! I used 1/4 cup and it was still way too much, leaving something akin to a gravy in the wok. Also, use low sodium soy sauce and brown rice vinegar instead of white wine vinegar. It'll be a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
My. My. My. By the last spoonful I was gushing with joy. This truly was amazing. I substituted flour for cornstarch. As a reminder add the flour slowly to the water when making the sauce so that it doesn't clump (oops).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Definitely much better than take-out! Used less cornstarch as other people had commented before; used 3/4th cup sugar, but next time I will used the whole cup of sugar. and used less vinegar as well. WILL MOST DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcisnero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
The flavors are spot on, however DO NOT use that much corn starch. The results are comical, yes, but not edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I give this recipe a 2 stars(a D grade for this major mistake) due to the fact you DON'T need monosodium glutamate (MSG) to make food tastier or better. Besides MSG causes health problems with many, and in my opinion, this neurotoxin will cause health problems even slightly in the longrun. Hey this is asian style cooking, and with all of the wonderful herbs, spices, and salt(or no salt), how can you not enjoy such foods without such things as sodium inosinate, sodium guanylate, manmade sweetner substitutes(there are some natural ones for those concerned...do the research), and MSG? Here's 1 of many leads http://www.msgtruth.org/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Wow, this was SO good! I use a lot of the same ingredients in a lot of my stir-fry recipes, but they created a whole different flavor in this dish! This was how I made it: Marinated the chicken pieces in soysauce, white pepper and garlic powder and added some cornstarch AND flour-just enough to coat it. I fried the pieces until they were golden and crisp(took only about 2 minutes!). For the sauce, I used 2-3 tbsp of cornstarch, 4 tbsp of water, 1/4 cup soysauce, 1/2 cup of sugar, about 1/8 of white vinegar and grated in 3 garlic cloves. I added some thai chili peppers and green onion to a hot pan with a bit of oil, added the sauce and added water to the sauce until I got the consistency I wanted. I then added the chicken and it was fabbb!! I didn't use an egg to coat the chicken because I felt like it would just create a thicker breading around the chicken and I didn't use ginger either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made this tonight, but didnt read the reviews first. I also revised it a little. Instead of frying, I pan grilled chicken tenders, subsituted cider vinegar for the white wine, didnt use onions, added 2 tblsp red pepper flakes, and used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar. The flavor was great, but way too much starch. I'm going to try this again with 1/4 cup cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Recipe is pretty good, but folks are right on the money about it being too much cornstarch. I suspected that the amounts for cornstarch and water were reversed. So, I used 1/2 c. water and only 1/4 c. cornstarch. Turned out perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Decent enough meal, but just didn't taste like the General Tso's I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States