General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Decent enough meal, but just didn't taste like the General Tso's I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very yummy, but still not crispy enough :(. I used 3 T cornstarchfor the sauce and it was still too much. will try 2 T next time, and maybe some orange zest I think would go really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gopintos
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I can never remember to read the reviews. I will use less corn starch in sauce next time. I didnt have white wine vinegar so I used red. No MSG here. I battered with flour instead of more corn starch. I pan fried instead of deep fried, and used that same pan to finish it. It was very tasty - a little corn starchy but not bad, it still tasted good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
The tempura mixture for this contains WAY to much soy sauce. I recommend cutting back on it by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
absolutely restaurant quality recipe.... I will be making this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My family loved this. Took a little longer to prepare than other recipes, but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe was excellent with some of the modifications from other reviewers. I cut the cornstarch to 2 tablespoons in the sauce, and I put half cornstarch/half flour in a plastic bag and put a few pieces of the marinated chicken in at a time to coat. Also used one tablespoon of crushed red peppers in place of the chili peppers. Tasted just like a good Chinese restaurant's General Tsao's! Family loved it and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great recipe. Tastes like some of my favorite restaurants do. I cut back on the corn starch as many suggested but I ended up adding more in when i was cooking the sauce. I also added more soy sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
It left a taste in my mouth I couldn't get rid of for two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Delish! Only change I will make is just a few tablespoons of cornstarch in the cauceinsteadvof the 1/2 cup. It came out slightly too thick, but amazing! Thank youfor the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrawatson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States