General Tsao's Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
One of my families favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Excellent! I followed the recipe with exception of frying the chicken. I cooked it on the griddle to reduce the calories (less batter sticks to it). My kids love the traditional recipe, but they were pleasantly surprised at how delicious and flavorful it turned out to be! Also, I served it over Chinese noodles instead of rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
this was great, although i did decrease the cornstarch and add more chicken broth. one thing to note, the longer you saute the dried chili peppers the spicier it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loritufts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very good dish and everyone in my family loved it. However, the sauce turned out too thick. I'll definitely reduce the cornstarch the next time. I may even make the sauce without cornstarch first. Then add it to the thickness I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This is a good recipe but use only half of corn starch and I left out the msg along with not as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
The flavor of the sauce was very good. After reading the other reviews, I cut the cornstarch to 1/4C and still had to add water in small amounts to get to the right consistancy. Now I wish I had seen the crushed red pepper flakes instead of the dried chili peppers. I used some mild dried chili peppes which I soaked for a few minutes in boiling water before chopping coarsely. The flavor of the sauce was great, but not real hot due to the type of chili pepper I bought and the peppers were hard to chew. Next time I will try the crushed red pepper flakes, or if anyone has some tips on how to use the dried, I would love to hear from you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This...was....PHENOMENAL!!!! My husband is gluten-free so I tweaked it....gf soy sauce and gf chicken broth and ta-da! Gluten-Free General Chicken. This recipe made me a hero in his eyes, since he hasn't had Chinese in months and this is always what he ordered. I didn't have 16 chiles, so I subbed 1 tsp of red pepper flakes...he wanted more, but I needed less. Also, only used about a cup of green onions (because that's all I had) and the sauce turned out GREAT! This is, by high request, on our weekly menu now. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennPender

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
All of the " breading", stuck to the pan. Will not make again, ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I am a chef and did not care for this recipe. In Step 1, I mixed the corn starch and water into a slurry and added to the wok after the chile and scallion and sauce ingredients. As for teh chix itself, the marinade is ok but I omitted the corn starch. I drained marinade from chix, toss in cornstarch, and then fried it. it comes out much crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barb
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Awesome recipe! I doubled the sauce however, I would not double next time as it didnt really need it. I only used 1/2 cup corn starch for the doubled recipe, so 1/4 cup would have been good. I used 1.5 tablespoons crushed red pepper rather than chili peppers. Skipped the MSG. Fried the chicken pieces in a pan with about 1.5 cups of oil. Cannot wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States