General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Great recipe! I doubled the sauce and sautéed onions, broccoli, carrots and red peppers in sesame oil. I tossed veggies, chicken and the sauce in a large bowl altogether. It made for a yummy beautiful entrée! I will definitely make this again! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I used 1 tbsp. of peanut butter instead of the peanut oil because I didn't have any, but it turned out great! We are definitely planning on making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy C
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I love this recipe, the flavors are delicious together. The only thing I did differently was I used chicken breast and I pan fried using only enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan. Not sure why we needed to fry twice but did it anyway, and was surprised that the chicken was cooked perfectly. I will definitely make this again and again. I might try it with less sugar next time just to see how it tastes because it seemed very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I used crushed red pepper instead of whole dried chili. 1 whole chili = 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I took a chance making this for dinner tonight. My husband is a very picky eater who does not like to deviate from the same old "familiar" foods. I did not fry the chicken as I thought it was too much work if my husband wasn't going to Ike it! I thought it was delicious and my husband had seconds!! He is still talking about what a good dinner it was! We will be enjoying this for dinner on a regular basis! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Outstanding flavor that is authentic in taste compared to quality Chinese restaurants. I made it exactly as recommended and we have had it several times since discovering it on allRecipes. My suggestions are mostly for presentation but do add a little flavor. I top the chicken with toasted sesame seeds and chopped scallions serving them over a bed of rice with peas or broccoli mixed in. As other reviewers have done, I also started doubling the sauce. This gives the dish a darker more rich-caramel appearance. mmm-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pearl City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I read some of the reviews before making this recipe and tweaked it as i went along, instead of white vinegar, i used Apple cider vinegar, it added to the flavor. I also added mushrooms cut in half at the last minute or two of cooking time. Will def. try it again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This is delicious and is the closest to the restaurant General Tso's chicken I've ever had. I accidently used all of my cornstarch in the beginning of the recipe and had nothing to thicken the sauce. In a pinch I made a roux of 2 TB butter and 2 TB flour, then added the sauce to this. Unlike other reviewers who had thin sauce, mine was thick and gooey. My accident was successful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking-jee
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Amazing , simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss_Chelley
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
It was really tasty. But I felt so bad using so much sugar, on top of deep frying the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States