General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
My fiancé LOVED this! I didn't deep-fry twice because I didn't see the point, and it was very crispy. I just fried until golden brown in about an inch of oil. I didn't have peanut oil so I omitted it. It was still amazing! Next time I will double the sauce and maybe add some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Great RECIPE! :-) I did not bread and deep fry the chicken, saving time and calories (non-stick, pan fried)... But was still great flavor from the sauce. I had never tried Chinese cooking before, but this was easy! (& Yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgantown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Beautiful, messy but beautiful!! I made no changes, there's no need. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Delicious! I used a little less cornstarch in the sauce as I prefer mine thinner. I used the base sauce for sesame chicken and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Didn't change anything. We all loved it. Even my picky 10 y/o. Def a keeper recipe. Amazed I could make something so good at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This was my first time making this type of dish. It turned out okay, I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon Hy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Tried this recipe loved it.. the only thing that I wish I would had done is let my rice cool for couple of days..rice was sticky and meshy.but other than good...will try it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaleb Birdsong
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Cook your rice first. You'll be waiting forever to taste this delicious chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
My husband and I have made this several times. Breading and cooking the chicken pieces takes a lot of time. The most recent batch we didn't bother breading the chicken at all, just cut up some chicken and put it directly into the wok with peanut oil, and it was still crazy tasty - just faster. I used low sodium soy sauce and instead of orange zest / sugar, I used orange marmalade, and I doubled the red peppers. I am looking forward to making other small changes to add variety - some peanuts or maybe peanut butter, or more orange, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I agree with the other reviewer, this was a lot of work, but so worth it. We thought it did taste just like a Chinese restaurant. I will definitely make the sauce again, but next time I might simplify the chicken part. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States