General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This is just like you get in a chinese restaurant. My family likes it saucy, so I made it with double the sauce. Also I couldn't find the dry red peppers so I used a chinese red pepper paste which allowed me to adjust the hot spicy temperature up a bit (my family likes it hot) wish there was a way to deep fry the chicken with less mess, but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This recipe is incredable!!! We did "tweek " it a bit. First, prepare your seasonings!!! It makes the cooking and mess so much better (I learned the hard way the first time.) Also, double the sauce. I also added a pinch of 5 spice (found at your Asian market) and it made the sauce come to life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOREMONROE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinNurse
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is an awesome dish! I cooked my chicken in a frying pan, but a fry daddy would make it easier! I also prepared everything before hand as some other reviews suggested. I put the measured ingredients into little bowls so it was easy to add them when it came time to do so. This is not hard to prepare, there just are several ingredients and steps. The first time for anyone will probably be the most awkward, but it's totally worth it. I will definitely make this for my family!!! Also, this is definitely comparable to what you would get in a restaurant! GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
F.Y.I. if you're abroad and can't find cornstarch, flour works all the same. Still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel Lambert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe! We followed the directions just as they were written, and really liked the sauce, not as thick and sugary as restaurants. Also frying the chicken twice made it nice a crunchy and not goopy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Outstanding!! I added two tablespoons of orange marmalade to slightly sweeten the sauce and served it over smashed potatoes. I also lightly toasted sesame seeds and tossed the chicken in them. Food coma!! It's the closest thing to Cheesecake Factory's orange chicken (my favorite)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
My husband actually kissed my hand after he ate this, signaling a job well done :) Great recipe! I made my portion with tofu, and that turned out well, too. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent! I have never been able to try this dish in a restaurant as I'm vegetarian, so we made it with mock duck (available canned in Asian markets and the Asian section of many grocery stores) instead of chicken. Same process, great results (Boyfriend is not vegetarian, and he enjoyed it as much as I did!). Doubled the sauce as suggested, and it was just the right amount. Served over rice with a side of steamed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
this was so good! i was suprised at how simple it was to make! we live out of the states and dont have chinese food here, so i was very happy to find this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Great recipe, I didn't have access to dried chili pepper and used sambal olek (chili paste) instead, i overdid it a little and would recommend only one tablespoon unless you like extra spicy. I will definately be cooking this again, it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesa B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Mcneill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States