General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Miss_Chelley
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
It was really tasty. But I felt so bad using so much sugar, on top of deep frying the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
The chicken was hard. I wonder if flour would have been better to use instead of cornstarch or if not cooking it twice would have made it better? Also, I think I may have burned the garlic in the pan because of how quickly you have to add all of the other ingredients. It may have been better if I didn't burn the garlic.. but I'm not going to make it again to see if it would have made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Definite restaurant quality!! Prepared as written, rave reviews. Thanks for a great recipe, Chefdaddy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
If you love Chinese take out, this is a must try recipe! It is seriously better than anything I have ever eaten at a Chinese restaurant. I have followed the recipe to the letter and I have done it a bit differently and it never disappoints! I love garlic so I add more, I also add more green onion, and I have used several different types of citrus to sub for orange. Since I am making this for the whole family, little kids included, I don't use whole chilies but use red pepper flakes instead. I took this to a friend's family and she raved and raved about it and later made it twice in one week because she loved it so much. This is one of the few recipes that I can serve my whole family and no one complains -that is a winning recipe in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made it exactly as directed, didnt change anything. I was so looking forward to this but was disappointed. It was good, but tasted EXACTLY like any Teriyaki chicken recipe I've ever made, not General Tsao chicken that you get at a chinese restaurant. I will be looking for a more authentic sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
So after reading the reviews I thought I had to try this and boy were you guys right. This was absolutely scrumptious and very close to Chinese takeout. Now, it was somewhat time consuming but the end result was worth the effort. I, like some, did not have access to peanut oil so I used peanut butter instead and I was unable to get the peppers so I simply used diced red sweet peppers. I am not fond of heat so perhaps it was best anyway. The double frying was really the trick and the sauce (even without the requisite ingredients) was on point. I did double the amount for the sauce which helped without doubling on the soy sauce as too much sodium for me. Great recipe and will definitely do again! Thanks ChefDaddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
AMAZING! I wasn't really sure why I was frying the chicken twice, but it came out absolutely delicious. My husband said it was better than any General's chicken available near us! I did take the advice of some reviewers and double the sauce, but next time I will triple the sauce for the amount of chicken I had. I usually cook more than necessary because my husband works long hours and usually takes two helpings of whatever I make for dinner with him for his lunches. I will absolutely be making this again! I served it with chow mein and steamed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I made this recipe *exactly* as written, including double-frying the chicken. The end result was nothing short of perfect! It can easily compete with the best General Tso's chicken at the best Chinese restaurant! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Amazing taste! Also substitution are soo easy with this recipe. I tend to add more jalapenos, use regular vinegar, and bake my chicken. Its always a people pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This is a staple whenever I have guests! Easy to make and very flavorful! - MomsterTeacher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States