General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I loved this recipe, and I had to make a few edits because I didn't have some items and I was not able to get to the grocery store. I used shallots instead of green onions, I used 1/2 cup of orange juice instead of zest, srarachi hot sauce, and fried in coconut oil. But the final product was amazing. I served it with black "forbidden" rice and broccoli slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is absolutly amazing does take a lot of ingredients but well worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by antoinej
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was a great recipe. It reminds me so much of my favorite Chinese food places in Baltimore,MD. Made me miss home. I used chicken breast instead of the thighs and I added blanched broccoli that I deep fried with the last frying of the chicken. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was quite a bit of work. I liked it, but I may not follow this recipe next time. I doubled the sauce except used less sugar (2/3c instead of the doubled amount 1c) & added 1/8t crushed red pepper since the kids were having some. It wasn't spicy at all, but more was easily added on the plate. I only panfried the chicken once. Then, added the sauce, boiled, thickened with cornstarch mixed with chicken broth. I felt there was too much salt (soy sauce) & sugar. I'm not saltsensitive, or sugarsensitive for that matter; but those flavors took over the recipe. One of the reviews mentioned "greasy" & "goopy". Yup, it was after it cooled; but what do ya want?! That's how it goes with dishes with oils & cornstarch. Jus' how it goes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This was soooooo good! Kind of labour intensive though, so when I make it again, I will definitely do it on a weekend when I have more time. Like others, I am not sure why you have to double fry the chicken but it was so worth it!! Even the couple of people in the house who don't like sauces ate the chicken plain and thought it was delicious! I did add a smidgen more orange zest and a couple extra chili peppers, but I don't think that took away from the original recipe. Thank you, ChefDaddy, for a great recipe that was as good as the best General Tsao's chicken I have eaten in a restaurant and a good deal better than most of the General Tsao's I have eaten out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
This turned out terribly. The sauce was a gooey, oily mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Absolutely delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
What an awesome recipe! The crunch of the chicken along with the sweet heat of the sauce just made it taste perfect. I also appreciate that this recipes seems to hold up to a variety of tweaking. You can suit your own taste buds with more or less heat, sweet, crunch, fried or baked, with veggies or not, citrus, garlic, ginger, peanutbutter or oil, sesame or no .... Lots of flexibility! A big thanks to Chef Daddy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Made this with boneless, skinless as other reviewers did. It was okay. I wasn't blown away by it. It certainly passes as a respectable weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
We give it 4.5 stars. It did take a long time to prepare with the steps involved...frying batches of chicken and then refrying. Because I didn't anticipate the length of time to prepare this dish, our dinner was very late. I don't like eating such a heavy meal and then going to bed soon afterwards. So, plan ahead...this dish takes longer to prepare than the time listed. Overall, it was good. I found the full cup of cornstarch to be a bit much...however, I don't know what the result would be if you reduced it. The pieces of chicken were crispy...even the next day after sitting in the sauce overnight. I would probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 382) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States