General Tsao's Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Delicious. A little more work than expected for my first try but well worth it. I would serve this to my mother-n-law so it's got to be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Doubled the sauce and used 1 tablespoon of red chile sauce in place of the dried red peppers since I couldn't find them. BEST GENERAL TSAO'S EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
this is the best recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe works well with tofu. If you take a block of extra firm tofu, cube it into bite size pieces. Place in a dish and cover with boiling salted water for 15 min. Drain and pat dry. From there follow directions as written. The glaze gets all loved up & clingy without turning to mush. I tried this for myself and my carnivorous children always eat it. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stefboogie
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Tastes like the dish we love from an area restaurant. I did make a few changes. I omitted the sesame and peanut oils and the orange zest because I didn't have any. I don't think it would have made a difference with the oils. I also substituted half of the sugar with brown sugar. I did NOT double fry. Didn't see the necessity in that since the chicken will soften in the sauce. During the simmer stage, I added 1/4 cup orange juice and sliced carrots (because that's the way our favorite go-to spot for Chinese serves theirs). I served it with vegetable fried rice. This General Chicken is so good it'll make you slap your mama! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The only adaptations I made were to toss broccoli in during the last minutes of thickening the sauce, and since the sauce needed only 3 tbs of chicken broth, I made a cup of bullion, used the 3 tbs and then used 1/4 c of the rest to mix with the cornstarch to thicken. I also did put the (white breast) chicken chunks in a fryer, then finished them for 10 minutes or so in a 425 degree oven before tossing them into the sauce. Yes, you can use plain chicken, but that's stir fry with Tsao's sauce, this is the real thing! You won't find a restaurant in town that can beat this recipe. I used to work in a Chinese restaurant in high school,their food was wonderful, but this is the best. Definitely use dried red chilies and fresh grated ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTeresa

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by trmotto85
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty much but took some advice from other reviews. Used peanut butter in place of oil, used chili paste instead of red chilis. Definitely double sauce. This was so good I won't buy it out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Today was my first day trying this recipe. I have to admit it was DELICIOUS!!! My son and hubby thought it was better than the restaurant. I did tweak it a little instead of buying the Peanut Oil I used Peanut Butter. I will share this recipe with everyone I know...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This recipe is spot on. The only adjustment I made was using half sugar and half xylitol. I did this because I made a double batch to pour over chicken wings and didn't want to use that expensive sugar substitute if this was going to be a dud recipe. I am a picky eater and taste is subjective but, this taste like the General Tsao chicken sauce from my favorite Chinese restaurant. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe is GREAT as is. I also made the sauce by itself tonight and added a tablespoon of peanut butter and served it over asian noodles mixed with scrambled egg for a mock pad thai for my vegetarian children. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States